Local slates set for Wise County November election

Mike Still • Jun 12, 2019 at 11:45 AM

WISE — The Wise County local slate for November elections is finalized.

According to results posted on the Wise County general registrar’s Facebook page Tuesday, the only contested constitutional officer race on the Nov. 5 ballot will be for sheriff.

Sheriff’s Department Col. Grant Kilgore, who won a three-way Republican primary June 1, faces Democrat Jake A. Elkins and independent Danny C. Mullins.

Republican Commonwealth’s Attorney C.R. “Chuck” Slemp III will run unopposed on the ballot. Democrat incumbent Commissioner of Revenue Douglas Mullins Jr. and incumbent Republican Treasurer Delores W. Smith are also unopposed.

One of two seats in each of the four county districts for Board of Supervisors is on the ballot. Democrat District 1 incumbent Fred A. Luntsford Jr., independent District 2 incumbent Steven E. Bates and Republican District 3 incumbent J.H. Rivers are unopposed. Republican James R. Lawson is running unopposed to succeed retiring Republican District 4 Supervisor Dana Kilgore.

Four of eight School Board incumbents are running unopposed: District 1’s Martha B. Jett, District 2’s John N. Graham Jr., District 3’s Vicki Galloway Williams and District 4’s Larry D. Greear.

Four people are running for two Soil and Water Conservation District seats: Terry L. Dickenson, K. Summer Smith, Danny R. Cantrell and Jimmy R. Vanover.

Only one town race is on the county ballot in November. Incumbent Big Stone Gap council members Robert C. Bloomer, Gary Paul Johnson and Tyler K. Hughes are running unopposed for three seats.