Tuesday's elections bring many changes to Hawkins city governments

Jeff Bobo • Updated Nov 7, 2018 at 6:28 PM

ROGERSVILLE — Surgoinsville Mayor Merrell Graham earned a third term, while longtime Church Hill Alderman B.D. Cradic was defeated in Tuesday’s elections, which will ring in changes for every city board in Hawkins County.

The county’s municipal election results were delayed by a computer glitch in the election office.

Elections Administrator Donna Sharp said Tuesday’s problem was due to a change in protocol of the order in which the early vote tallies and the absentee ballots cards were read into the post-election computer.

“Our onsite contractor worked closely with our vendor to review why the election night reports would not print in the correct format,” Sharp said. “Once the problem was pinpointed, the scans were performed in the proper order of absentee ballots first. Absentee, early voting, and Election Day tallies were then able to be read and printed in correct format in 53 minutes.”

Mount Carmel aldermen

Three newcomers earned spots on the Mount Carmel Board of Mayor and Aldermen including Pat Stilwell with 1,007 votes, Steven McLain (859) and James Gilliam (810).

Mount Carmel’s unsuccessful candidates included Darby Patrick (684), Melinda Fleishour (637), Denise Livesay (538) and incumbent Garrett White (332).

Church Hill aldermen

Newly elected County Commissioner and former Alderman Keith Gibson was the top vote-getter with 1,606, followed by Michael Walker (1,332) and Michael Bell (1,313).

Incumbent B.D. Cradic was defeated with 1,237 votes.

Surgoinsville mayor

Merrell Graham won his third term with 400 votes, defeating former Alderman Larry Dykes with 260.

Surgoinsville aldermen

Incumbent John Sandidge was the top vote-getter with 532 votes followed by Matthew Somers (406).

A third seat remains open.

Rogersville City School Board of Education

Incumbents Barbara Combs (700), and Scott Trent (612) were re-elected along with challenger Julie Phillips (604).

Incumbent Gerald Trent (534) and challenger Andrew Poe (315) were defeated.

Bulls Gap mayor

Betsy Shipley (108) defeated Bulls Gap Fire Chief Charles Johnson (104).

Bulls Gap aldermen

Jimmy Sexton (165) and Glenn Snelson Jr. (135) were elected without opposition.

Hawkins County by the numbers

Hawkins County residents cast 17,707 votes, or 56.18 percent of the total number of registered voters.

State House District 9 Rep. Gary Hicks defeated Derek Winkle in Hawkins County 13,327 to 2,919.

In the gubernatorial race, Bill Lee won Hawkins County over Carl Dean 14,059 to 3,196.

In the U.S. Senate race, Marsha Blackburn won Hawkins County over Phil Bredesen 13,048 to 4,216.

U.S. Rep Phil Roe won Hawkins County over Marty Olson 13,484 to 2,780.

Kingsport Times News Videos