Gate City alum Taylor wins back-to-back titles at LPCC

Kevin Mays • Jul 21, 2019 at 10:08 PM

BIG STONE GAP — Chance Taylor did it again.

The Tennessee Tech sophomore golfer from Gate City shot a 4-under-par 67 on Sunday to claim his second straight Lonesome Pine Invitational championship at Lonesome Pine Country Club.

Taylor added six birdies to his eight-birdie total from Saturday on his way to a 9-under 133 total.

“That was pretty nice,” Taylor said of successfully defending his title.

Mike Damron also shot a 67 to finish three strokes back in second place.

Former Virginia Tech golfer Garland Green of Tazewell, Virginia, closed with a 68 for a 4-under 137 and a third-place finish. Hunter Lunsford was seven shots back in fourth and Robert England nine back in fifth.

Matt Love and Craig Winchell tied for sixth at 3 over, and Mike McCall, George Roat and Evan Sturgill completed the top 10 championship contenders.

Sunday’s round concluded the 88th straight year of the Lonesome Pine Invitational, the longest-running tournament in the region and on the Tri-Cities Amateur Tour.


Taylor was playing in the event for the third straight year. He placed third in the invitational in 2017.

Despite have a better score on Saturday, Taylor said he felt like he played better in the final round.

“My score was one shot worse, obviously, but I feel like today’s 67 was actually better than the 66,” he said.

Damron and Green kept Taylor on his toes throughout play Sunday.

“I think at one time my lead got cut to one or two (strokes) and then I made a couple of birdies on back-to-back holes and I got my lead back,” Taylor said. “So, yeah, I was feeling a little pressure there for a while.”


The win was the second of the summer for Taylor, who won the Great Smoky Mountain Amateur at Gatlinburg Golf Course earlier this month.

Taylor also was runner-up in last month’s Tillinghast Invitational at Johnson City Country Club after losing a playoff with former Emory & Henry golfer Tanner Davis.

Taylor still has a couple of tournaments coming up this summer before returning for his second year at Tennessee Tech. He is scheduled to participate in a qualifier in North Carolina next week and to compete in the Tennessee State Amateur Championships in early August in Ooltewah.


Both the senior and super senior divisions went into sudden-death playoffs to determine their winners.

Tony Green eagled the fourth hole to defeat Mike Haney for the senior championship after they completed the first 36 holes tied at 144. James White (146) and Pudge Vanhoose (153) followed.

In super seniors play, Allen Blanken and Bob Ross were tied at 139 after regulation play Sunday. Blanken claimed the title with a birdie on the third hole.


Charlie Green shot a two-day 144 to win the first flight, Walt Crace (149) won the second, Jimmy Taylor (155) the third, James Hughes (160) the fourth and Kevin Hughett (185) the fifth.

88th annual Lonesome Pine Invitational

At Lonesome Pine Country Club, Big Stone Gap

Sunday, July 21


Championship Flight

Chance Taylor 66-67—133

Mike Damron 69-67—136

Garland Green 69-68—137

Hunter Lunsford 74-66—140

Robert England 72-70—142

Matt Love 70-75—145

Craig Winchell 72-73—145

Mike McCall 73-75—148

George Roat 75-74—149

Evan Sturgill 76-73—149

Matt Dotson 76-77—153

Bill Sergent III 75-78—153

Nate Clark 76-82—158

Lucas Lowe 80-81—161

Brett Richards 83-80—163

First Flight

Charlie Glenn 74-70—144

Jeff Gowder 76-71—147

Matt Ward 77-72—149

Justin Wilson 77-77—154

Andrew Horsman 74-82—156

Second Flight

Walt Crace 79-70—149

Rick Morgan 78-81—159

Mark Clendenon 79-81—160

Matt Smith 79-81—160

Steve Lockhart 78-84—162

Bill Damron 79-WD

Third Flight

Jimmy Taylor 81-74—155

Rick Meade 80-79—159

Landon Slone 82-81—163

Ben Sousa 82-83—165

Matt Horsman 80-86—166

Drew Adkins 84-91—175

Fourth Flight

James Hughes 87-73—160

Glen Pearson 85-80—165

Thomas Glenn 86-83—169

Elmon Walters 85-WD

Mike Fannon 87-WD

Fifth Flight

Kevin Hughett 95-90—185

Kevin Black 99-89—188

Robbie Carrico 92-109—201

Jason Deloney 104-99—203

Jim Caudill 102-103—205


*Tony Green 72-72—144

Mike Haney 73-71—144

James White 72-74—146

Pudge Vanhoose 76-77—153

Super Seniors

*Allen Blanken 71-68—139 

Bob Ross 67-72—139

Andy Black 74-76—150

Jim Hughes 80-72—152

Wayne Mahan 80-79—159

Oscar Neece 78-84—162

Johnny Black 82-82—164

Lester Bowman 90-92—182

Martin Stanley 91-93—184

*-Won sudden-death playoff.


Kingsport Times News Videos