Taylor returns to defend his title at LPCC

Kevin Mays • Jul 19, 2019 at 8:28 PM

BIG STONE GAP — The longest-running invitational golf tournament in the region tees off Saturday with a host of returning players, including the defending champion.

Chance Taylor, a freshman at Tennessee Tech this past season and a 2018 Gate City graduate, is scheduled to compete at Lonesome Pine Country Club this weekend in defense of his Lonesome Pine Invitational championship.

Taylor shot a two-day 139 on the par-71 course last year to win the coveted title.

Former Virginia Tech golfer and eGolf Professional Tour player Garland Green, who finished one stroke behind Taylor last year, is also scheduled to return. The former tournament champion at LPCC will be joined by other past champs at the Pine.

Part of the Tri-Cities Amateur Tour, the event is taking place for the 88th consecutive time.


Several top 10 players from last year’s tournament also are in the mix. Among them are Union College golf coach and nine-time tournament champion Bill Sergent III, past invitational champions Mike McCall and Mike Poe as well as George Roat, Evan Sturgill and Hunter Lunsford.

Also in the field is Craig Winchell, who won back-to-back Lonesome Pine Invitational titles in 2016-17.


Last year’s champions in the seniors and super seniors flights also return this weekend.

Pudge Vanhoose of Paintsville, Kentucky, won the overall seniors championship last year with a two-day 145 total. Vanhoose edged Kingsport’s Tony Green and James White by one shot.

All three are back for this year’s tournament, as is top contender Mike Haney — keeping the flight ultracompetitive.

Defending super seniors champion Bob Ross of Kingsport headlines his flight, and Andy Black — runner-up to Ross last year — joins him in the field.


The first group, which includes Ross, is scheduled to tee off at 9 a.m. Saturday.

The final group, which includes Taylor, is set for an 11:50 a.m. tee time.

Saturday’s complete tee times

9 a.m. — Bob Ross, Wayne Mahan, Oscar Neece

9:10 a.m. – Glen Pearson, Kevin Hughett, Jeff Gowder

9:20 a.m. – Hank Horsman, Matt Horsman, Andrew Horsman, Jim Hughes

9:30 a.m. – Hunter Lunsford, Brett Richards, Robert England, Matt Love

9:50 a.m. – James White, Tony Green, Rick Morgan, James Hughes

10 a.m. – Johnny Black, Andy Black, Martin Stanley, Lester Bowman

10:10 a.m. – Matt Smith, Mark Clendenon, Charlie Glenn, Thomas Glenn

10:20 a.m. – Jason Deloney, Matt Ward, Kevin Black, Robbie Carrico

10:30 a.m. – Pete Cornett, Brent Widner, Jared Cornett, Nathan Halcomb

10:50 a.m. – Drew Adkins, Jim Caudill, Justin Wilson, Rick Meade

11 a.m. – Mike Haney, J.D. Vanhoose, Pudge Vanhoose, Landon Slone

11:10 a.m. – Bill Damron, Elmon Walters, Steve Lockhart, Mike Fannon

11:30 a.m. – Garland Green, Bill Sergent III, George Roat, Mike Damron

11:40 a.m. – Matt Dotson, Craig Winchell, Evan Sturgill, Mike McCall

11:50 a.m. – Nate Clark, Lucas Lowe, Chance Taylor, Jimmy Taylor

Kingsport Times News Videos