no avatar

Taylor, Smith, Davis share Tillinghast lead

By Gene Renfro, Sports Correspondent • Jun 1, 2019 at 10:29 PM

JOHNSON CITY — Gate City native Chance Taylor closed out Saturday’s opening round of the 14th Tillinghast Invitational with a birdie that gave him a share of the lead on a packed leaderboard.

Taylor birdied Nos. 8 and 18 to card a 71 at Johnson City Country Club, the second birdie erasing a bogey on No. 15.

The rising Tennessee Tech sophomore’s low collegiate round was a 69 this past season.

“I hit the ball real good,” Taylor said of Saturday’s round. “I hit about every green and it should have been better than it was. I missed a lot of 6- to 8-footers.

“I’ve not been playing my best golf, so it is good to get a good round in.”

Also at 71 were Taylor Smith and Tanner Davis. Smith, a member of the club, carded a 34 on the back nine and was spurred on by a birdie on No. 9. He totaled six birdies in the round, but a pair of double bogeys hindered his progress. Knoxville native Davis eagled the par-5 third hole but bogeyed No. 9 and settled for an even-par 36 on the back nine.

Tory Davis, Tanner Davis’ brother, was in a pack of seven golfers at even-par 72. Another eight golfers carded 2-over 74s, creating a logjam near the top going into Sunday’s final round.

A familiar name paced the senior division’s championship flight.

Mike Poe birdied the ninth hole and tacked on three birdies on the back nine to finish at 68.

“I made the putts I needed to make. It was a pretty solid round today,” said Poe, the Volunteer boys basketball coach.

Poe built a three-shot lead over Tim Dinwiddie, who totaled four birdies. The last came on the final hole.

Dave Daniel used a 33 on the back nine to finish at 72. Cary Daniels and Bill Argabrite both shot 73.

The flight leaders were Dan Constantino in the first and Dan Robbie in the second. Both enjoyed a seven-shot margin.

The senior flight co-leaders were Chris Tidwell and Joe Avento, sitting one shot better than Rick Morgan.


Saturday at Johnson City Club Country

Par 72

First round

Championship flight

Tanner Davis 71

Taylor Smith 71

Chance Taylor 71

Lucas Armstrong 72

James Beckner 72

Joe Brooks 72

Austin Carter 72

Tory Davis 72

Chip Spratlin 72

Cayman Ratliff 72

Nelson Dickerson 74

Seth Crawford 74

Ben Campbell 74

Nick Forsberg 74

Daniel Foster 74

Blake Howard 74

Gibson Miller 74

Noah Jones 74

Tommy Miller 75

Matt Love 75

Cody Carlson 76

Ken Miller 76

Cameron Dugger 76

Nick Cohen 77

Ethan Mays 77

A.R. Rhea 77

Will Hannah 77

Andrew Wilmoth 78

Alex Bradford 78

Chris Schaff 78

Matthew Bateman 79

Hunter O’Neal 79

Caleb Moss 79

Drake Crawford 80

Ben Treadway 80

Andrew Pisacano 80

Richard Lowe 80

Matt Dibella 81

Charlie Strange 82

Hunter Hartman 82

Kolby Evans 84

Chad Jones 85

Carter Counts 85

Joe Culpepper 85

Jordan Williams 85

Allison Woodward 86

Michael Kucera 89

Mike Hembre 90

Lawrence Largent WD

Lucas Tabor WD

Senior Division

Mike Poe 68

Tim Dinwiddie 71

Dave Daniel 72

Cary Daniels 73

Bill Argabrite 73

Michael Wood 74

Roger Chadwell 76

Mark Atkins 77

Bill Hardin 77

Charles Smith 77

James Fender 78

Lyman Fulton 79

Brad Rinella 80

Bryan Rogers 80

James White 80

Tony Gouge 80

Dwight Scott 81

Scott Campbell 81

Eddie Bailey 81

Brian Bonfardin 82

Steve Love 85

Jim Branter 92

Doug LeVan NC

First Flight

Dan Constantino 70

Josh Taylor 77

John Minton 78

David Greer 79

Tommy Tipton 79

Brandon Moore 81

Josh Aldridge 81

Daniel Sochalski 81

Dan Sanders 84

Gracen Clark 85

Shawn Stewart 87

Mitchell Nidiffer 90

Dakota Rash 91

Hunter Tipton 93

Second Flight

Dan Robbie 81

Casey Goetz 88

Copper Tipton 95

Tony Southard 96

Mike Davis 97

Cole Greer 97

Felicia Nidiffer 98

Caleb Tipton 102

Mikkie Landis NC

Senior Flight

Joe Avento 81

Chris Tidwell 81

Rick Morgan 82

Marvin Orio 85

Warren Ballagh 85

Rick Eggers 94

P.J. Johnson 95



Second round

Senior flight

8:00 a.m. – Johnson, Lester, Eggers, Orio

8:10 a.m. – Ballagh, Tidwell, Morgan, Avento

Second Flight

8:20 a.m. – Cal. Tipton, F.Nidiffer, Southard, C.Greer

8:30 a.m. – M.Davis, Robbie, Goetz, Cop.Tipton

First Flight

8:40 a.m. – H.Tipton, M.Nidiffer, Rash, Stewart

8:50 a.m. – Sochalski, Clark, Sanders

9:00 a.m. – Aldridge, Moore, D.Greer, T.Tipton

9:10 a.m. – J.Taylor, Constantino, Minton

Senior Championship

9:30 a.m. – Brantner, S.Love, Bonfarin

9:40 a.m. – Bailey, S.Campbell, Scott

9:50 a.m. – White, Gouge, Rinella

10:00 a.m. – Rodgers, Fulton, Fender

10:10 a.m. – Hardin, C.Smith. Atkins

10:20 a.m. – Chadwell, Wood, Daniels

10:30 a.m. – Argabrite, Daniel, Dinwiddie, Poe

Championship Flight

10:50 a.m. – Hembre, Kucera, Woodward

11:00 a.m. – Culpepper, C.Jones, Williams

11:10 a.m. – Evans, Strange, Counts

11:20 a.m. – Hartman, Dibella, Lowe

11:30 a.m. – Pisacano, Treadway, D.Crawford

11:40 a.m. – Bateman, O’Neal, Moss

11:50 a.m. – Wilmouth, Schaff, Bradford

Noon – Mays, Hannah, Cohen

12:10 p.m. – Rhea, K.Miller, Carlson

12:20 p.m. – Dugger, T.Miller, M.Love

12:30 p.m. – B.Campbell, Crawford, Dickson

12:40 p.m. – N.Jones, G.Miller, Forsberg

12:50 p.m. – Howard, Foster, Armstrong

1:00 p.m. – Beckner, Brooks, Carter

1:10 p.m. – Spratlin, Tory Davis, Ratliff

1:20 p.m. – Taylor, T.Smith, Tanner Davis