no avatar

Holston sweeps Region 1D golf titles; Cook, Starnes, Griffin advance to state

Tanner Cook • Oct 1, 2018 at 8:17 PM

JONESVILLE — The Hogoheegee District dominated Monday afternoon’s Region 1D golf championships at Cedar Hills Country Club, sweeping the team and individual titles.

The top two teams advance to the VHSL Class 1 championships at Lonesome Pine Country Club in Big Stone Gap next week, along with the top three individuals not on a qualifying team.

Led by medalist Mason Steele’s 10-over-par 81, Holston won the team title with a 352 score. Chilhowie was second with 382.

Castlewood freshman Coleman Cook was the runner-up after shooting an 83 and winning a three-way playoff on the first hole.

“My putter was working out there for me today,” Cook said. “Coming off of districts at Scott County Park, the putting here and there is a lot different. My putting was on today. That’s really what helped me.”

The Blue Devils finished fifth as a team, one stroke behind fourth-place Grundy.

Rye Cove, which placed third in the team standings, had two individuals advance to the state tournament next Monday. Tyler Starnes was fourth with an 83 after dropping a playoff, and Michael Griffin shot 90 to finish sixth.



At Cedar Hills Country Club, Jonesville


(Top four count toward team score)

Holston (352)

Mason Steele 81, Austin Berry 83, Levi Price 93, Dylan Thomson 95, Noah Thomas 100, Thomas Roark 110.

Chilhowie (382)

Noah Barr 86, JJ Ashby 97, Ben Elrod 99, Dillon Powers 100, Jacob Turley 103, Zoe Chapman 114.

Rye Cove (399)

Tyler Starnes 83, Michael Griffin 90, Chase Love 112, Brennen Berry 114, Dalton Williams 126.

Grundy (422)

Sydney Stiltner 96, Peyton McComas 101, Logan Cole 108, Ethan Viers 117, Ethan Blankenship 121, Tyler Grizzle 123.

Castlewood (423)

Coleman Cook 83, Logan Horner 100, Zach Owens 118, Heath Sutherland 122, Jacob Gross 140.

Honaker (507)

Wyatt Ramey 123, Payton Baldwin 128, Ethan Compton 128, Luke Fields 128, Macklin Smith 134.


Noah Stout (Eastside) 93, Emmalee Johnson (Council) 97, Andrew Hall (Patrick Henry) 98, Tanner Dingus (Twin Springs) 103, John Lane (Twin Springs) 110, Tyler Jones (Northwood) 112, Lance Faris (Patrick Henry) 121.

Kingsport Times News Videos