no avatar

Jackson's Ingalls wins Tennessee Am title in playoff

• Aug 11, 2018 at 2:07 AM

COLLIERVILLE — Aaron Ingalls of Jackson sank a 35-foot birdie putt on the second playoff hole at Spring Creek Ranch to end a three-way battle with Ross Redmont of Memphis and Kyle Cottam of Knoxville and win the Tennessee Amateur Championship on Friday.

“It’s pretty unbelievable,” Ingalls said. “It’s an honor. There are a lot of great names on this trophy. It’s just a tremendous honor.”

All three players parred No. 18, the first extra hole.

University of Tennessee golfer Brayden Garrison finished fourth at 3 under. Philip Lee of Nashville, Bryce Lewis of Hendersonville, Tim Jackson of Williston and Jacob Sherlin of Hendersonville tied for fifth at 1 under. Ryan Terry of Nashville ended up alone in ninth at even par.

Kingsport’s William Nottingham, a teammate of Cottam’s at Clemson, was the leader after the second and third rounds but fell into a tie for 10th at 1 over.

The top 20 finishers get automatic exemption into next year’s championship, which will be held at The Honors Course.



At Spring Creek Ranch

Friday, Aug. 10

Final round

(*won two-hole playoff)

*Aaron Ingalls 74-69-69-70—282 

Kyle Cottam 75-66-70-71—282

Ross Redmont 70-72-71-69—282

Brayden Garrison 71-69-71-74—285

Philip Lee 70-73-76-68—287

Bryce Lewis 75-70-71-71—287

Tim Jackson 72-70-76-69—287

Jacob Sherlin 78-71-68-70—287

Ryan Terry 70-72-77-69—288

William Nottingham 69-69-72-79—289

Whit Turnbow 75-70-71-73—289

Matt Cooper 77-71-72-70—290

Brock Ochsenreiter 72-67-73-78—290

Spencer Cross 76-74-70-70—290

Cayman Ratliff 75-74-70-71—290

Jake Hall 76-72-75-68—291

Michael Shears 74-71-71-75—291

Zachary Smith 71-73-73-74—291

Michael Barnard 72-77-68-75—292

John Barnett 79-69-72-73—293

Hunter Wolcott 76-71-76-70—293

Trevor Johnson 71-74-74-74—293

Jackson Skeen 73-73-75-72—293

Jack Smith 73-73-73-74—293

Cade Russell 75-74-70-74—293

Jack Crosby 73-76-74-70—293

Kingsport Times News Videos