Adkins, Polier, Owens lead 2019 All-SW Virginia football honorees

Kevin Mays • Dec 15, 2019 at 3:30 PM

The Mountain 7 District dominated the top honors on the Times News All-Southwest Virginia football team for 2019.

For the second year in a row, NCAA Division I prospect Trenton Adkins was named the offensive player of the year.

The Ridgeview junior finished the season rushing for 2,863 yards and 48 touchdowns for the Wolfpack, giving him over 6,000 yards rushing for his career.

Another NCAA prospect, Mason Polier of Union, is the defensive player of the year after a strong season on both sides of the ball.

From his linebacker position, the team captain recorded 130 tackles, including 15 for loss. Polier had three sacks, four forced fumbles and three interceptions and scored a defensive touchdown — all in addition to his 30 touchdowns when playing offense.

The defensive first-teamer also is on the All-Southwest Virginia second-team offensive unit as a running back after rushing for 1,808 yards.

Coach of the year honors go to Wise Central’s Luke Owens.

The former Grundy and Virginia Tech gridiron star directed the Warriors to a 10-3 season, the best in school history.

Under Owens’ leadership, Central recorded its first 10-win season, won its first playoff game and made its first appearance in the Region 2D championship game. The Warriors’ season ended with a loss to VHSL Class 2 champion Graham in the regional final.

With a sophomore-dominated squad sprinkled with junior leaders such as C.J. Crabtree, Noah Bolling and Ben Brickey — helmed by Owens and his talented group of assistant coaches — the football future is as bright as the rising sun at Warrior Stadium.

2019 Times News All-Southwest Virginia Football Team

Offensive Player of the Year

Trenton Adkins, Ridgeview

Defensive Player of the Year

Mason Polier, Union

Offensive Receiver of the Year

Ben Brickey, Wise Central

Defensive Back of the Year

Ethan Mullins, Wise Central

Offensive Lineman of the Year

Trevor Wagner, Union

Defensive Lineman of the Year

Tanner Jervis, Union

Coach of the Year

Luke Owens, Wise Central



QB—Jadon Boothe, Abingdon

RB—Trenton Adkins, Ridgeview

RB—C.J. Crabtree, Wise Central

WR—Christian Hinkle, Twin Springs

WR—Ben Brickey, Wise Central

TE—Tyler McCloud, John Battle

OL—Trevor Wagner, Union

OL—Noah Sage, Lee High

OL—Major Cook, Abingdon

OL—Josh Price, Wise Central

OL—Dauntay Woods, J.I. Burton

Utility—Esau Teasley, J.I. Burton

K—Landon Knepp, Ridgeview

KR—Grayson Whited, Eastside


DL—Joey Yates, Ridgeview

DL—Michael Calhoun, Gate City

DL—Tanner Jervis, Union

DL—Austin Jones, J.I. Burton

LB—Mason Polier, Union

LB—Mikey Culbertson, J.I. Burton

LB—Evan Bellamy, Eastside

LB—Alijah Sproles, Ridgeview

DB—Luke Reed, Gate City

DB—Antwun Jenkins, Union

DB—Ethan Mullins, Wise Central

Utility—Najee Steele, J.I. Burton

P—Jayden Farley, John Battle

PR—Carson Jenkins, Gate City



QB—Jaymen Buchanan, J.I. Burton

RB—Mason Polier, Union

RB—Kenny Ball, Thomas Walker

WR—River Carter, Abingdon

WR—Najee Steele, J.I. Burton

TE—Logan Ely, Thomas Walker

OL—T.J. Miller, Wise Central

OL—Logan Davidson, Gate City

OL—Brayden Mullins, Eastside

OL—Lucas Deel, Ridgeview

OL—Kaleb Carter, Twin Springs

Utility—Mason Hardin, Rye Cove

Utility—Corbin Kilgore, Twin Springs

K—Jayden Farley, John Battle

KR—Esau Teasley, J.I. Burton


DL—Jason Cowden, Thomas Walker

DL—Daniel Hawkins, Wise Central

DL—Caleb McCurdy, J.I. Burton

DL—Dylan Hale, Abingdon

LB—Conner Gilmer, Twin Springs

LB—Logan Mullins, Wise Central

LB—Logan Tomlinson, Gate City

LB—C.J. Jones, Union

DB—Grayson Whited, Eastside

DB—Christian Hinkle, Twin Springs

DB—Trey Keys, J.I. Burton

Utility—Matthew Hardin, Rye Cove

P—River Carter, Abingdon

PR—Esau Teasley, J.I. Burton

Kingsport Times News Videos