Christian appointed chairman of Hawkins BOE for 2019-20

Jeff Bobo • Sep 9, 2019 at 3:45 PM

ROGERSVILLE — Hawkins County Board of Education member Chris Christian will be back in a familiar position next month after being unanimously elected chairman at the end of Thursday’s meeting.

Officers on the BOE are re-elected every September, and Bob Larkins, who represents District 1 (Mount Carmel, Allandale) had served as chairman the past two years.

On Thursday, however, he made the motion to appoint Christian to that position.

Christian, who represents District 2 (Church Hill) was then approved for the position by a 7-0 vote. Christian served as chairman the two years prior to Larkins.

“I’ve enjoyed my time as your chair, and I thank you for all your participation and cooperation,” Larkins said after the election. “I look forward to Mr. Christian and his leadership.”

Vice Chairman Debbie Shedden was reappointed by a vote of 6-0 with board member Tecky Hicks abstaining.

By a vote of 7-0, Larkins was appointed chairman pro tem, which means he will conduct the meetings if the chairman and vice chairman are unavailable.

Board member Jackie Charles was initially nominated by Christian to serve as the BOE’s Tennessee Legislative Network representative, but Charles declined the nomination. 

Shedden was then re-elected to the position by a vote of 6-0 with Hicks abstaining.

This representative communicates the BOE’s wishes to the Tennessee General Assembly and also relays pertinent legislative information back to the board.

In other business Thursday, the BOE:

* Approved the two finalists from among 14 student-produced semifinalist entries for the new school district logo.

Director of Schools Matt Hixson said the students who created the two logos will touch up their work and return to the board, possibly next month, for approval of the winner.

No names were released Thursday, although Hixson did hold up the two logos, which can be seen in the photo gallery of the online version of this article at www.timesnews.net

Dr. Michelle Harless said there will also be prizes for the two finalists, and that information will be released to the public later.

* Approved several purchases using the $50,000 that was set aside for athletics equipment and facilities in the 2019-20 budget. The total amount of this year’s purchases came to $47,927.

Volunteer High School receives a Kubota Commercial Zero Turn mower for Volunteer High School for $9,900, as well as a sideline mat and a track and field mat.

Cherokee High School receives a stadium public address system, gym public address system and sideline chairs.

Church Hill Middle receives two basketball scoreboards.

Surgoinsville Middle receives two basketball scoreboards, one baseball scoreboard, and one softball scoreboard.

* Approved several non-faculty coaches, including Clinch School: Whitley Russell, cheerleading; Cherokee: Brandon Collins, assistant baseball; Church Hill Middle: Jacob Adam Lovelace, head boys basketball; and Michael Cameron Hill, assistant wrestling; Rogersville Middle: Penny Lawson, assistant girls basketball; and Surgoinsville Middle: Chad Metz, assistant boys basketball.

One submission from Volunteer High School for assistant girls basketball coach was excluded from approval due to some paperwork missing from the application. The board said that position can be considered next month if the proper paperwork is submitted.

* Approved the appointment of the district-wide Disciplinary Hearing Authority Committee to include High School Supervisor Thomas Floyd as chairman, Attendance Supervisor Greg Sturgill as a member, as well as all school principals and assistant principals. The committee was approved 6-1 with Tecky Hicks voting no.

Kingsport Times News Videos