The icing on the cake is that the independent K-8 Rogersville City School was also named a Reward School.

Hawkins County’s four Reward Schools include Carters Valley Elementary, Hawkins Elementary, the K-12 Clinch School, and Mount Carmel Elementary, which has the rare distinction of being a back-to-back Reward School.

Mount Carmel Elementary was also a Reward School in 2011-12 and 2012-13.

In order to earn Reward School status, a school must score in the top 5 percent in the state in either academic achievement or growth.

Hawkins County has had as many as two Reward Schools in one year, but Board of Education Chairman Bob Larkins noted that the county school system has never had four.

“To have four is pretty amazing, and we’re excited about that,” Larkins said. “And then to have no schools listed as priority or targeted is an accomplishment as well. That means that overall we’re achieving the goals that we set.”

Larkins added, “Carters Valley is one that we really focused in on, and I’m really proud of their accomplishments. They’ve really done a good job bringing their scores up. I hope this is the beginning of a good thing and we continue this trend.”

This success can be attributed to hard work by faculty and staff, Larkins said, as well as students and parents who responded to the challenges and rigor of the new state testing system.

“Students are being asked to do a lot these days, a lot of testing going on to see what kind of progress we’re making, and they’re hanging in there with us, not giving up,” Larkins said. “I’d like to think leadership has something to do with it, but I think it really boils down to good teaching instruction, and students are eager and willing to work hard and learn.”

Rogersville City School

RCS has a long history of ranking at the top of the state in academic success, and this is the second time it has been designated a Reward School since the new state testing accountability system was established in 2011-12.

“I am extremely proud of the hard work that earned Rogersville City state Reward School status for 2017-2018,” said RCS Director Rebecca Isaacs. “Our students were prepared by an amazing staff and supported by an outstanding community. It’s always gratifying to see hard work pay off and be recognized.”

Kingsport and Sullivan County

Kingsport had three Reward Schools: Andrew Johnson Elementary, John Adams Elementary and Thomas Jefferson Elementary.

Sullivan County had two Reward Schools: Miller Perry Elementary and Sullivan South High.

The Times News will take a closer look at those successes next week.

Other Reward Schools in the region

* Washington County: Grandview Elementary, Jonesborough Elementary, and University School.

* Johnson City: Cherokee Elementary, Lake Ridge Elementary, Liberty Bell Middle, Towne Acres Elementary and Woodland Elementary.

* Bristol: Avoca Elementary and Tennessee Online Public School.

* Carter County: Cloudland Elementary and Valley Forge Elementary.

* Greene County: Chuckey Doak Middle, Chuckey Elementary, McDonald Elementary, North Greene High, Ottway Elementary and South Greene High.

* Greeneville: Eastview Elementary, Greeneville High, Greeneville Middle and Tusculum View Elementary.

* Hamblen County: Alpha Elementary, East Ridge Middle, John Hay Elementary, West View Middle and Whitesburg Elementary.

Targeted Schools in the region

Sullivan County’s Bluff City Middle; Bristol’s Fairmount Elementary; Carter County’s Happy Valley Middle School; Greeneville’s Highland Elementary; and Washington County’s West View School.

Kingsport Times News Videos