Cassidy bests Anderson by nearly 2-to-1 margin in Sullivan sheriff's race

J. H. Osborne • Aug 2, 2018 at 10:47 PM

BLOUNTVILLE — There’s a new sheriff in town, or there will be soon, based on unofficial election results from the Sullivan County Election Commission.

Jeff Cassidy, an independent, defeated five-term (that’s 20 years) incumbent Sheriff Wayne Anderson, the Republican candidate, to take the reins at the Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office as of Sept. 1.

Cassidy took a substantial lead when the early/absentee vote tally was released shortly after polls closed at 8 p.m. on Election Day, leading Anderson 57.35 percent to 42.65 percent (3.16 percent of the 12,367 voters who cast early or absentee ballots in the county’s general election did not vote in the sheriff’s race).

Once all precincts were reported, Cassidy finished with a nearly 2-to-1 margin of victory over Anderson. The final numbers: 16,843 for Cassidy (66.3 percent); and 8,560 for Anderson (33.7 percent).

Sullivan County Mayor Richard Venable cakewalked to victory over independent challenger Gerald L. Sensabaugh Jr., garnering nearly 70 percent of the 24,814 votes cast in the mayoral race. The final tally: 17,307 for Venable and 7,507 for Sensabaugh.

In all, 26,283 voters cast ballots during this election cycle.

Other county races and their winners:

Circuit Court Judge, 2nd Judicial District (unexpired term): William K. Rogers (R), garnered 20,355 votes. He was unopposed.

Assessor of Property: Donna K.Whitaker (R) is the unofficial winner with 17,144 votes. Independent candidate Jerry M. Sorrell received 6,096 votes.

County Trustee: Susan Arnold Ramsey (R), garnered 19,766 votes. She was unopposed.

Circuit Court Clerk: Bobby Russell (R) garnered 20,188 votes. He was unopposed.

County Clerk: Teresa L. Jacobs (R) is the projected winner with 18,758 votes. Democratic candidate Jane Davis received 5,054 votes.

Register of Deeds: Incumbent Sheena Ramsey Tinsley (R) garnered 20,040 votes. She was unopposed.

Commissioner of Highways: Scott Murray (R) garnered 20,800 votes. He was unopposed.

County Attorney: Dan Street (R) garnered 20,825 votes. He was unopposed.

All figures are from unofficial results posted by the Sullivan County Election Commission and are not considered official until that group meets and certifies the results. That meeting is tentatively scheduled for August 8.



Kingsport Times News Videos