Kingsport Times News Friday, September 4, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »

News Local News

Wise County town election results

May 7th, 2014 8:47 am by Stephen Igo

Wise County town election results

WISE — Although some incumbents on town councils in Wise County failed to win reelection and others were pushed to retain their seats, Tuesday's town elections were fairly quiet with low voter turnout.

Election returns for towns in Wise, Scott and Lee counties were posted to the Virginia State Board of Elections late Tuesday night after the Times-News' deadline.

In Appalachia, newcomer T. Chase Christian led the four-candidate field for two available seats with 130 votes followed by incumbent Town Council member Ruth Ann Boyd reelected to her seat with 107 votes. Coming up short were incumbent John E. Brooks with 98 votes and J. Maria White with 76 votes. The total vote count was 411.

In Big Stone Gap, incumbent Nancy B. Bailey was hard pressed to retain her council seat, ranking fourth of the victors for the four available seats in a five-candidate field where voters also submitted a sizable number of write-in ballots.

Newcomer J. Kent Gilley Jr. led the field in Big Stone Gap with 402 votes (22.32 percent) followed by incumbent Crystal S. Lyke with 348 (19.32 percent), newcomer J. Phil Robbins with 346 (19.21 percent), then Bailey with 304 votes (16.88 percent). John P. "Jack" Beck was the lone candidate out with 200 votes (11.10 percent), and was even edged out by the 201 write-in votes cast by Big Stone Gap voters on Tuesday. Total votes cast were 1,801.

Incumbents seeking reelection in Coeburn failed in their reelection bid on Tuesday. For the two available Coeburn Town Council seats, voters installed newcomers Sharon P. Still and Deventae T. Mooney, ousting Carles E. Collins and Charles E. Kiser Jr.

Still led the Coeburn field with 259 votes (27.01 percent) followed by Mooney with 247 votes (25.76 percent). Collins and Kiser ended their reelection bids with 226 and 225 votes respectively. There were 959 votes cast in Coeburn.

In Pound, incumbent Mayor George E. Dean turned back a mayoral challenge bid by Rocky C. Cantrell, 136-119.

For the two available seats sought by a five-candidate field for Pound Town Council, appointee incumbent Danny Kyle Stanley reclaimed his seat with 126 votes and will be joined by newcomer Terry W. Short with 114 votes. Newcomer David A. Still received 87 votes, incumbent James D. Pelfrey's reelection bid received 77 votes, and newcomer Christian R. Holbrook received 67. There were 471 total votes cast in Pound.

No contests were posed in either St. Paul or the town of Wise on Tuesday. St. Paul Mayor H. Kyle Fletcher was unopposed in his reelection bid and received 104 votes in confirmation. The three incumbents on St. Paul Town Council were also unopposed in their reelection bids. They include Gregory V. Bailey, Kenneth R. Holbrook and Monty L. Salyer reconfirmed for new four-year terms.

In the town of Wise, there were three candidates, including two incumbents, seeking the three available Wise Town Council seats. Unopposed, incumbents Teresa Ann Akins and Caynor A. Smith Jr. were reelected to new four-year terms and newcomer Cindi L. Smoot will start her first term on council.

comments powered by Disqus