Kingsport Times News Friday, September 4, 2015
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »

Local News

Voters head to polls for Wise town elections

May 5th, 2014 7:12 pm by Stephen Igo

Voters head to polls for Wise town elections

WISE — Polls are open from 6 a.m.-7 p.m. today in municipalities across Virginia as town elections get under way.

The usual voting places in each of the towns in Wise County are the same as in past elections. A rundown of candidates in each Wise County town include four candidates for two seats on the Appalachia Town Council.

Candidates include incumbents Ruth Ann Boyd and John E. Brooks and challengers T. Chase Christian and J. Maria White.

Five candidates are on the ballot in Big Stone Gap, with a sixth write-in candidate making a bid as well, according to Wise County General Registrar Allison J. Robbins.

There are four seats up for election in Big Stone Gap. Candidates include incumbents Nancy B. Bailey and Crystal S. Lyke and candidates John P. "Jack" Beck, J. Kent Gilley Jr., and J. Phil Robbins, the former football coach at Powell Valley High School.

Samuel Renfro is making the write-in bid in Big Stone Gap.

Four candidates are vying for two open seats on the Coeburn Town Council. Carles E. Collins and Charles E. Kiser Jr. are incumbents seeking re-election, and they are being challenged by Deventae T. Mooney and Sharon P. Still.

Voters in Pound and St. Paul will have the post of mayor also on their ballots. In Pound, incumbent Mayor George E. Dean is challenged by Rocky C. Cantrell.

Five candidates are vying for two seats on the Pound Town Council, including incumbents James D. Pelfrey and Danny Kyle Stanley, the latter an appointee to the board.

Pound Town Council challengers include Christian R. Holbrook, Terry W. Short and David A. Still.

St. Paul Mayor H. Kyle Fletcher is unopposed in his re-election bid. St. Paul Town Council elections also harbor little suspense, with three incumbents — Gregory V. Bailey, Kenneth R. Holbrook and Monty L. Salyer — seeking reelection, also unopposed for the three available seats.

The Town of Wise also carries little suspense, with three candidates, including two incumbents, on the ballot for the three available council seats.

They include incumbents Teresa Ann Adkins and Caynor A. Smith Jr. and newcomer Cindi L. Smoot.

comments powered by Disqus