Kingsport Times News Saturday, August 29, 2015

Community Local News

Wise County, Norton voters can cast in-person absentee ballots today

November 2nd, 2013 12:00 am by Stephen Igo

Wise County, Norton voters can cast in-person absentee ballots today

WISE — Voters in Wise County and the city of Norton who anticipate an inability to get to the polls Tuesday for Virginia’s statewide and local elections will still be able to enter an in-person absentee ballot today.

Voter registrar offices in the Wise County Courthouse and City Hall in Norton will be open 9 a.m. through 5 p.m. today for voters to come to those offices in person to enter their ballots.

The state’s mail-in absentee ballot deadline was Tuesday. Wise County Registrar Allison Robbins on Friday said her office has received more than 200 mail-in absentee ballots.

Polls will open 6 a.m. Tuesday and close at 7 p.m. for voters statewide to choose a new governor, lieutenant governor and state attorney general. Candidates for the House of Delegates will also be on state and local ballots.

Virginia’s hotly contested gubernatorial contest pits current Republican Attorney General Ken T. Cuccinelli II against Democrat Terry R. McAuliffe and  Libertarian Robert C. Sarvis of Annandale.

Democrat Ralph S. Northam and Republican E.W. Jackson are vying for lieutenant governor. The attorney general candidates are Republican Mark D. Obenshain and Democrat Mark R. Herring.

Locally for the House of Delegates, long time District 1 incumbent Delegate Terry G. Kilgore, R-Gate City, representing all of Lee and Scott counties and most of Wise County, is unopposed for re-election. Kilgore’s Wise County precincts include Appalachia, Dorchester, Guest River, Wise, East Pound, Big Stone Gap, East Stone Gap and Clinch Valley.

District 4, covering Dickenson, Russell and Washington counties and four precincts in Wise County, has A. Benton Chafin Jr., R-Lebanon, running unopposed to fill the seat of retiring state Delegate Joe Johnson, D-Abingdon.

The four District 4 House of Delegates precincts in Wise County are West Pound, North Coeburn, South Coeburn and St. Paul.

Local contests on Tuesday’s ballots in Wise County include four seats each on the county Board of Supervisors and county School Board.

In Wise County’s District 1, incumbent Ronnie L. Shortt is being challenged by Rocky C. Cantrell. District 2 and District 3 Supervisors Robert R. “Bob” Adkins and Virginia H. Meador, respectively, are seeking re-election unopposed. In District 4, incumbent Supervisor Robert E. “Robby” Robbins Jr. is being challenged by Brenda M. Stallard of Coeburn.

For Wise County School Board, the District 1 seat being vacated by Rocky Cantrell, who is making a bid for the Board of Supervisors, is sought by H. Wayne Leftwich of Pound and J.C. “Jay” Swiney III.

District 2 incumbent School Board member Phillip F. Bates is unopposed, as is District 4 incumbent and current School Board Chairman Nolan L. Kilgore. In District 3, Donnese C. Kern is challenging incumbent School Board member Betty B. Cornett.

The total number of registered voters in Wise County is just under 24,000.

Besides the statewide offices, including Kilgore for House of Delegates, on the city of Norton ballot, three city offices are up for election on Tuesday: city sheriff, commissioner of revenue and treasurer.

Long time Norton Sheriff Carlos Noaks is being challenged by Ken Adams. Incumbent Commissioner of Revenue Judy Miller is seeking re-election unopposed, as is Treasurer Barbara Muir. There are 2,378 registered voters in Norton.

comments powered by Disqus