Kingsport Times News Saturday, August 29, 2015
Community Education

Local teachers named McGlothlin Awards semifinalists

October 31st, 2013 11:53 am by Staff Report

ROANOKE, Va. — Blue Ridge PBS announced Thursday that 18 outstanding teachers from across the Blue Ridge region remain in the running for the prestigious 2014 McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence. 

Among the largest teaching prizes in the U.S., the two McGlothlin Award winners receive $25,000 each, while four runners-up receive $1,000 each.

The semifinalists will now move through two more evaluation levels, with winners announced at the annual McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching at Radford University in April 2014. Blue Ridge PBS staff direct the awards process each year.

Now in its 15th year, the McGlothlin Awards were established by the McGlothlin Foundation of Bristol, Va. They are given annually to exceptional educators from public schools in selected portions of Virginia, Tennessee, West Virginia and Kentucky. 

Applications for the awards are judged by experienced educators from regional colleges, universities and school divisions. One teacher from grades K-5 and one from grades 6-12 are awarded $25,000 each. A stipulation is that $10,000 must be used for international travel to broaden the winners’ experience and enrich their classroom teaching.

“We are thrilled by the range of schools and communities these candidates represent,” said James Baum, president and CEO of Blue Ridge PBS. “Outstanding educators deserve to be recognized and appreciated, and we congratulate all the teachers in the semi-final groups.”

The 2014 McGlothlin Awards semifinalists in the elementary category are: 

* Andrew Perry, Anderson Elementary, Bristol City, Tenn.
* Steven Cregger, High Point Elementary, Washington County
* Kimberly Dickerson, Gilbert Linkous Elementary, Montgomery County
* Tracy Proffitt, Robert S. Payne Elementary, Lynchburg City
* Valerie Close, South Salem Elementary, Salem City
* Jen Hancock, Bonsack Elementary, Roanoke County
* Robin Bibb, Belview Elementary, Montgomery County
* Michelle Greene, Auburn Elementary, Montgomery County
* Angela Wimberly, Monterey Elementary, Roanoke City

The 2014 McGlothlin Awards semifinalists in the secondary category are: 

* Erin Bond, Floyd County High, Floyd County
* Sarah Burke, Gate City Middle/High, Scott County
* Michael Brown, Clifton Middle, Alleghany County
* Susan Hampton, Virginia Middle, Bristol City, Va.
* Stephanie Miller, Colonial Heights Middle, Sullivan County, Tn.
Emily Muterspaugh, Alleghany High, Alleghany County
* Stephanie O’Brien, Chatham High, Pittsylvania County
* Mary Slone, South Floyd High, Floyd County, Ky.
* Albert “Gus” Teller, Blacksburg Middle, Montgomery County

“Every year I’m amazed at the skills, creativity and professionalism we find among teachers across the Blue Ridge PBS region,” noted Thomas D. McGlothlin, president of the McGlothlin Foundation.

“The McGlothlin Awards are a fantastic opportunity for teachers to self-evaluate their craft, as they go through the submission process,” said Adele Morris, a past McGlothlin judge. “All teachers making the semi-final round should be very proud of their accomplishments.” Mrs. Morris joins Sheila Campbell as Co-Director for this year’s McGlothlin Awards.

In the next phase of judging, the semifinalists submit a lesson plan with a video of themselves teaching the lesson in their classrooms. Judges will evaluate the teachers’ instruction strategies, classroom management, interaction with the community, and use of instructional technology. Six finalists, three each at the elementary school level and secondary school level, will be notified in January 2014 and proceed to on-site observations by judges in the final round. 

To learn more about the McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence, visit Educate tab at The tab also has information about other Blue Ridge PBS on-air and online education resources, including a documentary, “Bringing the World to the Classroom,” about prior finalists and winners of the McGlothlin Awards.

comments powered by Disqus