Kingsport Times News Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Community Education

Kingsport City Schools Board of Education announces 2013-2014 meeting dates

August 13th, 2013 3:16 pm by Marybeth McLain

KINGSPORT, Tenn. – Kingsport City Schools Board of Education has scheduled a series of meetings and work sessions for the 2013-2014 school year located at the KCS Administrative Support Center, 400 Clinchfield Street, third floor – Tennessee Room, downtown Kingsport.

The board meets on the first and third Thursdays each month, with regular monthly meetings on the first Thursday of each month and work sessions held the third Thursday. The meeting includes a public comment period on agenda items. Take note, this year some meetings/work sessions will take place on a Tuesday. Please see full meeting schedule details listed below.

2013-2014 Business Meeting Work Session
September Thurs., Sept. 5 Tues., Sept. 17
October Tues., Oct. 1 Thurs., Oct. 17
November Thurs., Nov. 7 Thurs., Nov. 21
December Thurs. Dec. 5 NO WORK SESSION
January Thurs., Jan 2 Tues., Jan. 14
February Thurs., Feb. 6 Thurs., Feb. 20
March Thurs., Mar. 6 Thurs., Mar. 20
April TBD Thurs., Apr. 17
May Tues., May 6 Tues., May 20
June Thurs., June 5 Thurs., June 19

The KCS Board of Education is made up of five elected at-large, non-partisan members. Each member serves a four-year staggered term. Elections are held in May during odd numbered years. New Board of Education members are seated on July 1 of each election year. Visit, k12k.com for more information on our board members.

Kingsport City Schools is a public school system located in Kingsport, Tenn., serving students in Sullivan and Hawkins county. The district is comprised of 13 schools, including a Pre-K, eight elementary schools, two middle schools, one high school and an alternative school; with total enrollment reaching 6,500 students. The vision of Kingsport City Schools is to be, Student Focused … World Class.

For more information on Kingsport City Schools (KCS), visit k12k.com, listen live on, WCSK 90.3 FM, The Voice of KCS, watch KCS Today on Charter Channel 16 at 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. or call (423) 378.2100. We’re social too; follow us on Facebook, Kingsport City Schools and on Twitter, @KptSchools.

comments powered by Disqus