Kingsport Times News Friday, August 28, 2015
Sports Sports Live Results

Hale, Keaton win twin Late Model features at Lonesome Pine

July 21st, 2013 3:27 pm by Staff Report

Hale, Keaton win twin Late Model features at Lonesome Pine

The #29 of Josh Hale leads the pack to the green Saturday night. Hale won the first twin-35 feature, and Jack Keaton won the second. (photo courtesy of LPR)

COEBURN, Va.  - Josh Hale set fast time in qualifying for the first Late Model race. Hale would roll a one on the invert dice and keep his starting position. 

Derek Woodward would charge hard to the lead as the field rocketed into turns one and two. The caution would wave early on lap two for debris in turn three. 

To the lead went Hale on the restart. Keaton, Stiltner and Wolfe would follow and freight train the No. 18. At halfway, Hale continued his lead. Caution on lap 25, when Derek Woodward came to a near halt on the backstretch, would slow the field once again. 

With the green flag waving, the field would charge down the front straightaway, but the No. 40 would go around bringing out the yellow flag once again. Keaton would drive to the outside of Hale on the restart to take over the lead. Hale dove hard into turn one, on the final lap, bumping the No. 10 and overtaking the lead and claiming the victory. 

Josh Hale led the field to the green flag for the second 35 lap Late Model feature. Keaton would power to the lead over Hale in turn two. Trouble in turn four as Hale went around, bringing out the yellow.

Back under green, the field would complete only one lap before the No. 99 of Roark would lose his brakes and climb onto of the No. 40 of Wagner in turn one. The incident would trigger a lengthy delay, as track crews worked to clear the carnage. 

Green flag back in the air as Kidd and were battling for the top-spot. Contact between the No. 49 and No. 10 would send the No. 49 spinning, bringing out the caution once again. Keaton would rocket to the lead over Stiltner’s No. 22 on the restart. 

Ferguson would take over second-place as Stiltner was forced to the pits. With 10 laps remaining, Keaton and Ferguson had pulled away from the field. Keaton, in his first trip to LPR, would claim the victory. 

Brad Ball was on point for the 30 lap Mod-4 race. Racing into turns one and two, Yates would power his No. 3 to the lead over Ball. Gobble made his way to second-place by lap five and began to work on the No. 3. Gobble powered to the inside of Yates on lap nine. 

Yates and Gobble battled side-by-side, until lap 16, when Gobble would slide in behind the No. 3 and power back to the outside. Gobble would finally be able to clear the No. 3 machine on lap 21. Gobble would drive to another Mod-4 victory. 

Jamie Meadows, after the invert of five positions, was on the pole for the Super Street feature. Jared Bruner and Kirby Gobble would charge to the lead on laps two and three. 

Gobble would make his way around Bruner, for the lead, on lap four. Gobble would continue his lead at halfway and never look back to claim his second Super Street victory in two weeks. 

Dan Hall would power to the lead over Mitch Gibson on the first circuit of the Pure-4 race. At halfway, Hall would continue the lead in his No. 88, with the No. 94 only one car-length behind. Hall would lead every lap and claim his sixth victory of the season. 

Rannie Breeding powered his No. 1 machine to the lead on the opening lap. Breeding would dominate the entire race in route to his second Iron Warrior victory of 2013. 

Rusty Ratliff led flag-to-flag in the Pure Street race. Ratliff’s win was his first this season, Ratliff also added 50 points to his championship points lead. 

Western Virginia Truck Parts Night at The Pine Results:

Late Model #1:
Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 29 Josh Hale
2. 10 Jack Keaton
3. 22 Ryan Stiltner
4. 17 Kevin Wolfe
5. 32 Robbie Ferguson
6. 49 Michael Kidd
7. 38 Zack Walton
8. 40 Jenna Wagner
9. 18 Derek Woodward
10. 44 Jody Bostic
11. 0 Joe White
12. 37 Adam Gray
13. 99 Caleb Roark

Late Model #2:
Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 10 Jack Keaton
2. 32 Robbie Ferguson
3. 18 Derek Woodward
4. 49 Michael Kidd
5. 17 Kevin Wolfe
6. 37 Adam Gray
7. 0 Joe White
8. 38 Zack Walton
9. 29 Josh Hale
10. 40 Jenna Wagner
11. 44 Jody Bostic
12. 22 Ryan Stiltner
13. 99 Caleb Roark 

Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 88 Kirby Gobble
2. 3 Rocky Yates
3. 17 Brad Ball
4. 45 Billy Duty
5. 22 Dennis Arnold
6. 31 David Brown
7. James Owens
8. 2 Jamie Meadows

Super Street:
Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 3 Kirby Gobble
2. 25 Rob Austin
3. 8 Jared Bruner
4.11 Jamie Meadows
5. 4 David Brown
6. 00 James Owens
7. 60 Matthew Stiltner
8. 27 Tommy Hess
9. 23 Joey Sykes

Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 88 Dan Hall
2. 94 Mitch Gibson
3. 20 Billy Presley
4. 22 Jason Yates
5. 44 BC Penley
6. 27 Marty Shouse
7. 99 Cortney Roark
8. 11 Jackson Austin
9. 5 BJ Large
10. 4 Andrew Mullins
11. 83 Tim Presley

Iron Warriors:
Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 1 Rannie Breedin
2. 11 Jamie Meadows
3. 01 Mike Breeding
4. 54 Mike Boyd
5. 69 Emory Ratliff
6. 76 Trey Crook
7. 10 Chris Clevenger
8. 70 Michael Husted
9. 49 Eric Owens
10. 12 Aaron Ratliff
11. 9 Cody Owens

Pure Street:
Pos. Car No. Driver
1. 9 Rusty Ratliff
2. 33 Iggy Greer
3. 69 Kenneth “Nugget” Street
4. 7 Dean Deskins

Saturday, August 3 the action continues with twin Late Models, Mod-4, Super Street, Pure-4, Pure Street, Iron Warriors and the Faster Pastor Race. It’s also Kids Night, bring the kids out to ride in racecars. Grandstand gates open at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. 

comments powered by Disqus