Kingsport Times News Saturday, August 29, 2015
Sports Live

Jonesborough's Byrd takes first win at The Gap

April 7th, 2013 7:20 pm by staff report

Jonesborough's Byrd takes first win at The Gap

BULLS GAP — Tim Byrd finally made it to Victory Lane.
The Jonesborough driver, who had notched several runner-up and top-five finishes in his four years of racing but never had taken the checkered flag, grabbed both the pole and the win Saturday in the second annual Walter Ball Memorial 40 at Volunteer Speedway.
Byrd earned $2,000 for the Fastrak Racing Series-sanctioned Pro Late Model victory.
“Man, words just cannot describe what an awesome feeling this is to finally win my first race,” Byrd said. “We’ve come close to winning before only to come up a little short at the finish. But tonight we had a great car.
“... (T)his win tonight, it’s such a great feeling to be able to finally say I’ve won a race at Volunteer Speedway. This place is so rich in history — just look at all the big names in dirt Late Model racing that have won races here.”

Tim Maupin, John Tweed, Teddy Tate and John Cobb rounded out the top five.
The night’s main event was named after the late Walter Ball, who over his nearly 30-year career visited Victory Lane more than 400 times and won championships at tracks throughout the region. Seven years ago on his 70th birthday, Ball suffered a massive heart attack while in the pits at The Gap watching his son, Dale, race, and passed away.
Gray’s Eddie Morris (Modified Hobby), Kingsport’s Mike Clevenger (Open Wheel Modified) and Mohawk’s Brad Dyer (Mini Stock) were the night’s other winners.
Saturday, April 6
Fastrak Racing Series — Pro Late Model
Walter Ball Memorial 40
1. Tim Byrd (24); 2. Tim Maupin (T2); 3. John Tweed (5); 4. Teddy Tate (99); 5. John Cobb (40); 6. Mike Smith (4); 7. Dale Ball (2); 8. Greg Burchett (5g); 9. Clinton Cook (7); 10. Heath Alvey (7); 11. Wes Johnson (57j); 12. Richard Adkins (73); 13. Cody Brake (586); 14. Jensen Ford (24f); 15. Chuck Price (82); 16. Ricky Presley (17); 17. Ricky Moore (75); 18. Brad Coffey (88); 19. Tyler Dixon (00); 20. Jerry Broyles (72); 21. Chris Chandler (8); 22. Doug Price (p4).
Modified Hobby (25 Laps)
1. Eddie Morris (0); 2. Mike Mays (30); 3. Chuck Johnson (17); 4. Landon Williams (25); 5. Jesse Wilder (79); 6. Charlie Bates (34); 7. Terry King (20); 8. Dave Smith (10); 9. Jesse Helton (28 – Did Not Start: Jamie Whitt (1); Jon Cook (0z); Chuck Kilian (96).
Open Wheel Modified (15 Laps)
1. Mike Clevenger (12); 2. Blake Kelley (K5); 3. Jeff Akard (00); 4. Tyler James (4); 5. Blake Terry (89); 6. Josh Evans (81); 7. Dale Reed (75).
Mini Stock (15 Laps)
1. Brad Dyer (0); 2. Justin Shelton (77); 3. Terry Price (34); 4. Nathan Stepp (66); 5. Jason Shelton (7); 6. Brad Stubblefield (21); 7. Shawn Henry (H0); 8. Brandon Johnson (B01).

comments powered by Disqus