Kingsport Times News Monday, August 31, 2015

25 students honored at Symphony Ball

April 15th, 2012 11:32 pm by staff report

Twenty-one young ladies and four young men were presented at the annual Symphony Ball last month during a formal evening of dinner and dance.

This year’s high school seniors have accomplished plenty in their own right and are leaders, athletes and volunteers. They are involved in band, orchestra, drama, cheerleading, dance, football, soccer, track, golf, baseball, choir, swimming, gymnastics, culinary arts, basketball and tennis.

A majority of the honorees will attend college on academic scholarships. Academically, they are involved in TN/VA Scholars, Beta Club, National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Niswonger Scholars Program, Roan Scholars Program, National Merit Scholars, FBLA, SHOUT!, AP Honors Scholars, Rotary Outstanding Students and the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

The honorees also are involved in the community through church, youth groups and missions teams, and as camp counselors, cheer coaches and Young Life members. They volunteer for Fun Fest, Neil’s Walk, Race for the Cure, Big Brothers/Big Sisters and Eastman’s Community Advisory Panel.

The Symphony Ball is hosted by the Women’s Symphony Committee, an organization that helps support the Symphony of the Mountains, the Symphony of the Mountains Youth Orchestra and the Voices of the Mountains through a variety of activities.

WSC members who wish for their children to participate in the Honors Program, must join the WSC no later than October of the student’s freshman year and be in good standing until the student graduates.

The 2011-2012 honorees are Peyton McKinlee Light, son of Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Light; Celin Marie Alvarado, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Carlos Alvarado; Taylor Anne Barnes, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Duane Barnes; Valerie Nicole Brown, daughter of Mrs. Michelle Brown and Mr. Richard Brown; John Michael Harman McCord, son of Mr. and Mrs. Jeff McCord;

Rebecca Grace Cross, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Lynn Cross; Hannah Victoria Easley, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joel Easley and Mr. Samuel Easley; Abigal Mackenzie England; daughter of Dr. Teresa England and Mr. Tony Scott England; Julia Thomas Forrester, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Mike Forrester; Mary Elizabeth Hall, daughter of Dr. John Richard Hall and Mrs. Mary Hall; Conner Jeffery Gunn, son of Dr. Joseph Michael and Mrs. Julie Witherspoon Gunn;

Elizabeth Marie Nottingham, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Bollinger Nottingham; Caitlin Elizabeth Haltom, daughter of Ms. Terri Cox and Mr. Craig Haltom; Katrina Ann LaHair, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stephen LaHair; Montana Alan Merrill, son of Dr. David and Mrs. Kathy Merrill; Ashley Brooke Payne, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Thomas Payne; Jacy Ellyce Richardson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Max Richardson; Macie Martiel Riddle, daughter of Ms. Jacque Martiel Riddle and Mr. Robert Conley Riddle; Emily Elizabeth Seaton, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Anthony Dean Seaton;

Olivia Claire Slusher, daughter of Mrs. Willene N. Slusher-Quillen and Mr. Jeffery K. Sluder; Lindsey Michelle Steffy, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Timothy Steffy; Stephanie Lee Strickler, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Michael L. Strickler; Kaelin Alexandra Toney, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Reedy Toney; Isabella Maria Velasco, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Jose Pinlac Velasco; and Halle Nichols Yungmeyer, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harold Yungmeyer.

To learn more about the Women’s Symphony Committee, call the symphony office at 392-8426 or visit

comments powered by Disqus