no avatar

O’Quinn returns to Victory Lane at LPR

Staff Report • Aug 4, 2013 at 9:18 PM

COEBURN — Former track champion Danny O’Quinn Jr. was victorious in his return to Lonesome Pine Raceway on Saturday.

O’Quinn, who was the 2006 rookie of the year in what is now NASCAR's Nationwide Series, dominated the first 35-lap Late Model feature, jumping out to the lead from the start and staying out front the entire way in the caution-free event. Points leader Ryan Stiltner, Adam Gray, Michael Kidd and Derek Woodward rounded out the top five.

In the second Late Model race, O’Quinn got tangled up with Kidd in a battle for the lead on lap 19, sending both drivers to the rear of the field.

With the two leaders out of the way, Kevin Wolfe took advantage and edged Stiltner at the finish line by .143 seconds for his first win of the season. Kidd, O’Quinn and Jake Keaton followed across the stripe.

Kirby Gobble pulled off a double, picking up his second consecutive win in Modified 4 and third straight in Super Street.

Other winners were Mitch Gibson in Pure 4, Mike Breeding in Iron Warriors and Roby Orr in Pure Street.

The Southeast Super Truck Series will visit LPR this coming Saturday with the support divisions also in action.

Lonesome Pine Raceway ResultsSaturday, Aug. 3Late ModelRace 11. Danny O'Quinn Jr.; 2. Ryan Stiltner; 3. Adam Gray; 4. Michael Kidd; 5. Derek Woodward; 6. Jake Keaton; 7. Joe White; 8. Kevin Wolfe; 9. Jenna Wagner; 10. Zack Walton; 11. Jody Bostic.Race 21. Kevin Wolfe; 2. Ryan Stiltner; 3. Michael Kidd; 4. Danny O’Quinn Jr.; 5. Jake Keaton; 6. Zack Walton; 7. Jenna Wagner; 8. Adam Gray; 9. Jody Bostic; 10. Derek Woodward; 11. Joe White.Mod 41. Kirby Gobble; 2. Rocky Yates; 3. Brad Ball; 4. Billy Duty; 5. Dennis Arnold; 6. Jamie Meadows; 7. James Owens.Super Street1. Kirby Gobble; 2. Rob Austin; 3. Keith Siltner; 4. Jamie Meadows; 5. James Owens; 6. Jeff Counts; 7. Joey Sykes; 8. Tommy Hess.Pure 41. Mitch Gibson; 2. Dan Hall; 3. Billy Presley; 4. Tim Presley; 5. BC Penley; 6. Jackson Austin; 7. Cortney Roark; 8. Marty Shouse; 9. BJ Large; 10. Andrew Mullins; 11. Jimmy Hillard.Iron Warriors1. Mike Breeding; 2. Rannie Breeding; 3. Emory Ratliff; 4. Mike Boyd; 5. Michael Husted; 6. Aaron Ratliff; 7. Jamie Meadows; 8. Chris Clevenger; 9. Kenny Crook.Pure Street1. Roby Orr; 2. Nasty Jones; 3. Iggy Greer; 4. Keith Stiltner; 5. Rusty Ratliff; 6. Kenneth Street; 7. Dean Deskins; 8. Brad Ball.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos