Who went where??? A look at some conference switches as of July 1

Associated Press • Jul 1, 2013 at 9:46 PM

Happy realignment day!

It certainly was for the Atlantic Coast Conference, which welcomed Pittsburgh, Syracuse and Notre Dame to the league with a celebratory news conference/flag planting in New York City. Other leagues took a more low-key approach.

Here’s a look at just a few of the dozens of conference switches in Division I that became official on July 1.

American Athletic Conference opened for business and Memphis, Central Florida, SMU and Houston left Conference USA to become members of the conference formerly known as the Big East.

• The new Big East is up and running. The basketball-centric league was created by old Big East members Villanova, Georgetown, St. John’s, Providence, Seton Hall, Marquette and DePaul. Joining them on Monday was Butler, Xavier and Creighton.

• Charlotte, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Louisiana Tech, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, Old Dominion and Texas-San Antonio all became members of Conference USA, with the league restocking after being gutted by the American.

• Georgia State, UT-Arlington and Texas State are now in the Sun Belt, with the conference restocking after being gutted by C-USA.

• The Mountain West adds Utah State and San Jose State from the Western Athletic Conference, which is now out of the football business.

Coming in 2014: Maryland and Rutgers to the Big Ten. Louisville to the ACC. East Carolina, Tulsa and Tulane to the American. Georgia Southern and Appalachian State join the Sun Belt.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos