no avatar

AAC baseball set for Hunter Wright

staff report • Apr 29, 2013 at 12:39 PM

KINGSPORT — Tennessee Wesleyan has the No. 1 seed for the Appalachian Athletic Conference baseball tournament, which begins Monday at Hunter Wright Stadium in Kingsport. The Bulldogs are coming off their second straight regular-season championship. The tournament format consists of eight teams in two pools of four. There is one play-in game to determine the final team in the eight-team field. Once narrowed down to eight, it is double-elimination within pool play. The two pool winners will then meet in a winner-take-all championship game. The seedings in order are Tennessee Wesleyan (39-15, 20-3), Union (29-21, 14-10), St. Andrews (25-22, 12-12), Milligan (24-23, 11-13), Reinhardt (23-28, 11-13), Virginia Intermont (26-17, 11-12), Bryan (29-24, 10-14), Montreat (23-24, 9-15) and Point (22-30, 9-15). Pool A consists of Tennessee Wesleyan, Milligan, Reinhardt and the Montreat/Point winner. Pool B consists of Union, St. Andrews, Virginia Intermont and Bryan. The final regular-season game between Tennessee Wesleyan and Virginia Intermont was canceled because of inclement weather. Per conference policies, both teams were assessed a loss for seeding purposes. That left Virginia Intermont in a three-way tie with Milligan and Reinhardt for the No. 4 seed. Milligan won series against both Reinhardt and Virginia Intermont to earn the higher seeding. Reinhardt took two of three games from VI to claim the 5 seed. The tournament opens Monday with Montreat meeting Point at 5 p.m. On Tuesday, Milligan faces Reinhardt at 11 a.m., followed by St. Andrews vs. VI at 1:30 p.m., Union vs. Bryan at 5 p.m., and Tennessee Wesleyan vs. the Montreat/Point winner at 7:30. The tournament continues Wednesday and Thursday, with the championship matchup set for Friday at a time to be determined.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos