no avatar

Ervin, Wyrick, Edmonds, Fleming earn postseason honors from coaches

staff report • Mar 12, 2013 at 12:04 PM

Gate City senior Luke Ervin was named the Region D boys basketball player of the year on Monday.Ervin led the Blue Devils to the Region D tournament championship and a runner-up finish in the VHSL Group A, Division 2 state tournament.Ervin was joined on the All-Region D first team by Castlewood’s Reid Edmonds, Tyler Vernon of Union, Nick Howard of Virginia High and Peyton O’Quinn of Haysi.The Region D coaches of the year were Castlewood’s Doug Campbell in Division 1 and Gate City’s Scott Vermillion in Division 2.Campbell was also named the coach of the year in the Cumberland District, and Edmonds earned the league’s player of the year honors.Hayley Wyrick, who helped Wise Central to a runner-up finish in the VHSL Group A, Division 2 girls tournament, was selected the Lonesome Pine District player of the year. Robin Dotson, who led the Lady Warriors to that second-place finish at state, was named the LPD girls coach of the year.Castlewood sophomore Caitlyn Fleming earned Cumberland District girls player of the year honors, and her coach, Barry Ruff, was named the district’s coach of the year. The Lady Blue Devils earned a berth in the VHSL Group A, Division 1 Final Four.All-Region D Boys Basketball Team Player of the Year Luke Ervin, Sr., Gate City Division 2 Coach of the Year Scott Vermillion, Gate City Division 1 Coach of the Year Doug Campbell, Castlewood First Team Luke Ervin, Sr., Gate City Reid Edmonds, Sr., Castlewood Tyler Vernon, Sr., Union Nick Howard, Sr., Virginia High Peyton O’Quinn, Sr., Haysi Second Team Andy Arnold, Sr., Gate City Dylan Jenkins, Jr., Gate City Tyler Austin, Jr., Castlewood Ervin Beaty, Jr., J.I. Burton Payton Ball, Sr., Honaker Honorable Mention Austin Bollinger, So., Lebanon Robbie Mullins, Sr., Clintwood Colby Addington, Sr., Union Caleb Mills, So., Wise Central Tyler Scott, Sr., Thomas Walker Ryan Milgrim, Jr., Eastside Hunter McMahan, Sr., Rye Cove Tyler Tipton, Sr., Haysi Ty Hall, Sr., Honaker Wesley Peck, Jr., HurleyAll-Cumberland District Boys Basketball Team Player of the Year Reid Edmonds, Castlewood Coach of the Year Doug Campbell and staff, Castlewood First Team Reid Edmonds, Castlewood Tyler Scott, Thomas Walker Tyler Austin, Castlewood Ryan Milgrim, Eastside Hunter McMahan, Rye Cove Second Team Forrest Luntsford, Eastside Caleb Smith, Twin Springs Dylan Trent, Castlewood Uriah Addison, Rye Cove Justin Catron, Thomas Walker Honorable Mention Ben Couch, Castlewood Matt Green, Eastside Braeden McNew, Twin Springs Justin Greer, Thomas WalkerAll-Lonesome Pine District Girls Basketball Team Player of the Year Hayley Wyrick, Sr., Wise Central Coach of the Year Robin Dotson, Wise Central First Team Hayley Wyrick, Sr., Wise Central Laura Gipe, Sr., Wise Central Logan Reynolds, So., Wise Central Reagan Davis, Jr., Wise Central Sydney McKinney, Fr., Union Kristen Bishop, Fr., Union Summer Begley, Jr., Union Brande Childress, Sr., Union Kayla Mullins, Fr., Clintwood Katlyn Phillips, Jr. , Clintwood Jaz Hill, Sr., J.I. Burton Jaz Bay, So., J.I. Burton Honorable Mention Taylor Fleming, Jr., Clintwood Ivvy Gulley, Fr., Clintwood Cristian Fultz, Jr., J.I. Burton Kelsey Culbertson, Jr., J.I. Burton All-Cumberland District Girls Basketball Team Player of the Year Caitlyn Fleming, So., Castlewood Coach of the Year Barry Ruff, Castlewood First Team Caitlyn Fleming, So., Castlewood Erin Stanley, Jr., Eastside Sam Cole, Sr., Eastside Haley Crabtree, Jr., Castlewood Shiloah Darnell, Sr., Twin Springs Lexie Kennedy, Jr., Castlewood Lindsay Dean, Jr., Eastside Madison Lake, So., Thomas Walker Lucindy Lawson, So., Rye Cove Morgan Mays, Sr., Twin Springs Honorable Mention Kacie Jessee, So., Castlewood Morgan Kerns, Sr., Rye Cove Marquetta Garnett, So., Thomas Walker Korey Purtee, Jr., Castlewood Madison, Powers, Jr., Eastside Jasmine McCloud, So., Twin Springs Morgan White, So., Thomas Walker

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos