no avatar

Nominations sought for Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame

staff report • May 5, 2013 at 7:24 PM

GARDNERS, Pa. — Nominees for the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame will be accepted through Thursday, Feb. 28 to recognize those who have made a significant contribution toward establishing and maintaining the 2,184-mile footpath that passes through 14 states from Maine to Georgia. “This year, the third class to the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame will be inducted,” said Larry Luxenberg, president of the Appalachian Trail Museum Society – the organization that oversees the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame. “The induction of the first two classes included — Myron Avery, Gene Espy, Ed Garvey, Benton MacKaye, Arthur Perkins, Earl Shaffer, Emma Rowena “Grandma” Gatewood, David Richie, Frank Schairer, Jean Stephenson and Major William Adams Welch. All are pioneers. Without them, the Appalachian Trail probably would not even exist. Nominees for 2013 should be people who have unselfishly devoted their time, energy and resources toward making the Appalachian Trail a national treasure.” Nomination criteria and the nominating and selection processes for the 2012 Hall of Fame are: Criteria: Those eligible for inclusion include anyone who has made an exceptional and positive contribution to the Appalachian Trail or Appalachian Trail community. This could be by leadership, inspiration, service, achievement or innovation. This includes, without limitation, pioneers who conceived of and developed the trail; those who organized or directed major trail organizations like the Appalachian Trail Conservancy and Appalachian Trail clubs; maintaining clubs; longtime trail maintainers; leaders who promoted and protected the A.T.; hikers who have made significant accomplishments, and other persons who have enriched the culture or community of the Appalachian Trail by their association with it. Eligible persons can be living or deceased. The emphasis will be on persons who have made their contribution to the A.T. over a long period, whether or not they are still active. Six individuals were elected in the first year. The sizes of the succeeding classes will be gradually reduced to create the maximum degree of honor and exclusivity. The first few classes will be comprised primarily of important historical figures (living or deceased) rather than contemporary figures. Eligibility and selection will be determined without regard to race, creed, color, gender, sexual orientation or national origin. Nominations: Nominations will be solicited from throughout the hiking and trails community, by using this online site www.surveymonkey.com/s/BMVRMHX. A nominator need not be a member of any hiking organization to submit a nomination. A nominator may only make one nomination per election cycle. Nominators will be asked to justify their nomination in a brief statement not exceeding 200 words that describes the nominee and why he or she fits the criteria.Deadline for nominations: Thursday, Feb. 28, 2013. Election: An Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Committee has been selected by the Appalachian Trail Museum Society Board of Directors to supervise the election process and to submit the finalists to the board. That committee is chaired by Jim Foster, a museum volunteer and 2007 through-hiker of the Appalachian Trail. Other members of the committee are Noel DeCavalcante, Tom Johnson, Brian King, Gwen Loose, Larry Luxenberg and Bill O’Brien. The Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Committee will deliver the slate of finalists to the museum board by March 15 for subsequent review and elections. The Appalachian Trail Museum Society Board elected six people to the 2011 Charter Class and five to the 2012 Class. Up to five may be elected to the 2013 class. The Committee and Board plan to gradually reduce the size of subsequent Hall of Fame classes. Announcement and recognition of inductees: Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in early May and the induction ceremony will be on Friday, June 7 at the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Banquet at the Allenberry Resort in Boiling Springs, Pa. The inductees will be enshrined on an Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Wall of Honor at the Appalachian Trail Museum. Located in Pine Grove Furnace State Park and at the midway point of the Appalachian Trail, the museum is across from the Pine Grove General Store on Pennsylvania Route 233.About the Appalachian Trail Museum SocietyThe Appalachian Trail Museum Society, a 501-C-3 not-for-profit organization formed in 2002, organizes programs, exhibits, volunteers and fund raising nationwide for the Appalachian Trail Museum. The museum opened on June 5, 2010, as a tribute to the thousands of men, women and families who have hiked and maintained the 2,184-mile-long hiking trail that passes through 14 states from Maine to Georgia. Located in the Pine Grove Furnace State Park in Gardners, Pa., the museum is conveniently near Carlisle, Gettysburg and Chambersburg, Pa. Additional information is available at www.atmuseum.org. (Submitted by Joe Patterson, Appalachian Trail Museum Society)

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos