no avatar

LPR's Gatlin ASA East Region champion

staff report • Oct 10, 2012 at 1:13 AM

COEBURN — Lonesome Pine Raceway Late Model champion Lance Gatlin has officially claimed the American Speed Association (ASA) East Region championship, LPR announced in a release. The Jefferson City, Tenn., driver just completed a dominant season at LPR that included a nine-race winning streak. He finished with 10 victories at the three-eighths-mile ASA-sanctioned racetrack and claimed the 2012 LPR championship by 72 points over Ryan Stiltner. Gatlin also finished second in the ASA racing member track national championship, behind winner Shelby Stroebel of Meridian Speedway in Meridian, Idaho. The ASA member track national champion is determined by a formula that takes into account wins, finishing position, number of cars passed, car counts and events. The driver who won his or her track title and had the highest average over the other ASA member track champions was declared the national champion.Stiltner finished third in the ASA East standings.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos