no avatar

Pro golf glance

Staff Report • May 15, 2007 at 8:51 AM

Site: Duluth, Ga.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: TPC Sugarloaf (7,259 yards, par 72).

Purse: $5.4 million. Winner's share: $972,000.

FedExCup points: 25,000. Winner's share: 4,500.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 3-6 p.m., 8:30-11:30 p.m.) and CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Phil Mickelson successfully defended his title, leading wire to wire en route to a 28-under 260 total and 13-stroke victory. Mickelson, also the 2000 champion, won the Masters the following week.

Last week: Mickelson won The Players Championship, closing with a 3-under 69 for a two-shot victory that returned him to No. 2 in the world. Mickelson, working with new swing coach Butch Harmon, finished at 11-under 277 for his second victory of the year and 31st overall. The three-time major champion earned $1.62 million.

Notes: Mickelson is skipping the tournament. ... Masters champion Zach Johnson is in the field along with David Toms, Charles Howell III, Henrik Stenson, Chris DiMarco, John Daly and Stewart Cink. ... Greg Norman designed the TPC Sugarloaf. ... The Colonial is next week in Fort Worth, Texas, followed by the Memorial in Dublin, Ohio.

Site: Clifton, N.J.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Upper Montclair Country Club (6,433 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.4 million. Winner's share: $210,000.

Television: ESPN2 (Friday, 1:30-3:30 p.m.; Saturday, 2-4 p.m.; Sunday, 3-5 p.m.).

Last year: Mexican star Lorena Ochoa won the second of her six 2006 titles, taking the rain-shortened tournament at Wykagyl in Rochelle, N.Y.

Last week: Suzann Pettersen won the Michelob Ultra Open to become the first Norwegian winner in LPGA Tour history. She made a 1½-foot par putt after Jee Young Lee missed one from about 2 feet on the third extra hole.

Notes: The tournament shifts to Upper Montclair after 17 seasons at Wykagyl, now the site of the HSBC Women's World Match Play Championship. ... Paula Creamer won in 2005 to become the second-youngest winner (18 years, 9 months) in LPGA Tour history - and the youngest winner of a full event. Marlene Hagge won the 1952 Sarasota Open 14 days after her 18th birthday and took the Bakersfield Open two months later. Both of those tournaments were 18-hole events.

Site: Hoover, Ala.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Ross Bridge (7,509 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.6 million. Winner's share: $240,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 6:30-8:30 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-2:30 a.m., 6:30-9 p.m.; Sunday, 1-3:30 a.m., 6:30-9 p.m.; Monday, 1-3:30 a.m.).

Last year: Brad Bryant won the second of his two 2006 titles, closing eagle-birdie-par for an 8-under 64 and a two-stroke victory over Mark McNulty.

Last event: Scott Hoch won the FedEx Kinko's Classic on May 5 for his first Champions Tour title, beating D.A. Weibring by two strokes.

Notes: Seve Ballesteros is making his Champions Tour debut. ... The tournament moved to Ross Bridge last year after 13 seasons at Greystone.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos