no avatar

Stewart, Phillips take top Region D honors

Staff report • Jan 8, 2007 at 11:42 AM

John I. Burton received recognition for its VHSL Group A, Division 1 state runner-up finish by landing seven players on the 2006 All-Region D football team.

Raider Ethan Stewart led the contingent as the first-team quarterback and the Region D Offensive Player of the Year.

J.I. Burton's Jimbo Adams and his coaching staff were honored in Division 1 while Powell Valley's Phil Robbins and staff received the award for Division 2.

First-team lineman C.J. Phillips of Clintwood took the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Wide receiver Jaycob Coleman, offensive lineman Jacob Rose, running back and defensive end Josh Miles, defensive lineman Cody McElroy, linebacker Will Godsey and defensive back Jay Coleman rounded out Burton's other first-team selections.

Wide receiver Nathan Boyd, lineman Greg Barton and kicker Allen Owens were named to the first-team offense from Haysi, while Tigers lineman Joshua Edwards and back Chad Barton were selected to the defense.

Wide receiver Delmas Lawson, center Jason Neeley, defensive end Josh Spurlock and defensive back Stephen Mumpower represented Powell Valley on the first team.

Coty Lawson of Castlewood earned a first-team spot at offensive and defensive lineman. Also selected from the Blue Devils were wide receiver Drew Justice and linebacker Matt Phillips.

Running back Logan Ball, tight end Michael Tiller and linebacker Justin Newberry were chosen from Honaker.

Ervinton running back Adam Kiser and offensive lineman Adam Rose also grabbed spots on the squad, while Clintwood's Phillips was joined by teammate Chris Robinson, the return specialist.

Pound linebacker Drew Hubbard, St. Paul defensive back Brandon Phillips and Thomas Walker punter Adam Williams were the other first-team selections.



COACH OF THE YEAR, DIVISION 1: Jim Adams and staff, J.I. Burton

COACH OF THE YEAR, DIVISION 2: Phil Robbins and staff, Powell Valley



QB - Ethan Stewart, Burton

WR - Nathan Boyd, Haysi; Jaycob Coleman, Burton; Delmas Lawson, Powell Valley; Drew Justice, Castlewood

C - Jason Neeley, Powell Valley

OL - Jon Pope, Gate City; Jacob Rose, Burton; Greg Barton, Haysi; Coty Lawson, Castlewood; Adam Rose, Ervinton

RB - Logan Ball, Honaker; Josh Miles, Burton; Adam Kiser, Ervinton

TE - Michael Tiller, Honaker

K - Allen Owens, Haysi


DE - Josh Miles, Burton; Josh Spurlock, Powell Valley

DL - Joshua Edwards, Haysi; Cody McElroy, Burton; C.J. Phillips, Clintwood; Coty Lawson, Castlewood

LB - Justin Newberry, Honaker; Will Godsey, Burton; Drew Hubbard, Pound; Matt Phillips, Castlewood

DB - Brandon Phillips, St. Paul; Chad Barton, Haysi; Jay Coleman, Burton; Stephen Mumpower, Powell Valley

P - Adam Williams, Thomas Walker

Returner - Chris Robinson, Clintwood

Honorable Mention

Appalachia - Morgan Ireson, Adam Kiser, Brett Leedy; Burton - Jarod Scalf; Castlewood - Josh Justice; Clintwood - Derek Robbins; Ervinton - Anthony Honaker, Larry Phillips, Ryan Milgram, Benny LaForce; Haysi - Jelane Mock, Noah Fields, Cody Yates, Lance Compton; Honaker - Matt Shortridge, Morgan Hubbard, Koby Miller, Matt Hess, David Keene; Powell Valley - Brian Murphy, Wes Isom; Rye Cove - John Franklin, Jarrid Hensley, Travis Shupe, John Franklin, Jacob Maness; St. Paul - Tyler Phillips, Josh Brooks, Ryan Padgett, Daniel Williams, Adrian Thacker; Twin Springs - Chris Frazier, Alex Perez; Twin Valley - Wyatt Justus, Matt VanDyke, Jory Rife, Matthew Balding.

Recommended for You