Mayors Fletcher, Dean re-elected in Wise County

Stephen Igo • May 4, 2018 at 7:30 PM

WISE — Incumbent Mayors Kyle Fletcher and George Dean reclaimed their positions during Tuesday’s town elections in Wise County in their respective municipalities of St. Paul and Pound. Fletcher was unopposed, and Dean was re-elected by a comfortable margin over his challenger.

In other results, in Appalachia, Travis Anderson edged out incumbent T. Chase Christian as the top vote getter for two available town council seats, with Anderson netting 187 votes and Christian re-elected with 183. Eddie Galloway garnered 100 votes.

In Big Stone Gap, Tyler Hughes, previously appointed to fill a town council seat vacated by Cotton Stone, won a special election to serve a full term. Hughes overcame challenger Wendy A. Dillon by 248 to 226 votes.

Five candidates vied for four available regular town council election seats in Big Stone Gap. Incumbent Kent Gilley Jr. led the field and was re-elected with 373 votes followed by newcomer Aaron McKinney’s 340. Incumbents Crystal Lake and Nancy Bailey were re-elected with 313 votes each, barely edging out a bid by J. Phil Robbins at 308.

Three candidates vied for two available seats in Coeburn with incumbents Deventae T. Mooney and Sharon P. Still re-elected with 170 and 166 votes respectively. A bid by Clinton W. Hawkins Jr. failed with 126 votes.

In Pound, a special election for a seat vacated by Jonathan Walters saw the appointee, Jay Graham, elected to a full term with 143 votes over challenger David Gent Jr.’s 113.

In a four-candidate field for two available council seats in Pound, incumbent Danny Stanley was re-elected as the top vote getter with 134 votes. Newcomer Phil Cantrell Jr. claimed the other seat with 131. Incumbent Terry Short’s re-election bid failed at 122 votes followed by Michael A. Moore’s 108.

Also in Pound, incumbent Mayor George Dean was re-elected to another two-year term with 141 votes to challenger Stacey A. Carson’s 109.

In St. Paul, Mayor Kyle Fletcher was unopposed in his re-election bid. All incumbent town council members also won re-election for the three available seats. Winning re-election were Ken Holbrook with 217 votes, Monty Salyer with 199 and Gregory V. Bailey with 162. A bid by newcomer Raymond Trent Jr. drew 105 votes.

In Wise, newcomer Laura Taylor-Baugh knocked off an incumbent as well as led the four-candidate field for the three available seats at 183 votes, followed by the re-election of Caynor Smith with 163 votes and Teresa Adkins with 142. Incumbent Cindi Smoot lost her bid for re-election with 81 votes.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos