It's filing deadline day and 10 candidates are already seeking Hawkins mayor seat

Jeff Bobo • Feb 15, 2018 at 10:08 AM

ROGERSVILLE — One day before the candidate filing deadline Hawkins County Commissioner Mark Linkous from Rogersville turned in his petition Wednesday to make it an even 10 candidates who have qualified so far to run for the Hawkins County Mayor seat.

Along with the winners of the Republican and Democrat primaries on May 1, there will be four Independents on the ballot for Hawkins County mayor in the Aug. 2 county general election.

That means there's a mathematical chance, albeit unlikely, that the next Hawkins County Mayor could be elected with 17 percent of the vote.

But first they'll have to get through the May 1 primary.

Among the elected offices on the May 1 primary ballot are the 21 county commission seats, county mayor, sheriff, clerk of court, county clerk, register of deeds, trustee, and highway superintendent, and the seven constables.

As of the end of business Wednesday the sheriff, clerk of court, county clerk, register of deeds and trustee were uncontested with only incumbents seeking re-election.

Melville Bailey won't seek a third term as county mayor, instead opting to run for the 9th District Tennessee House of Representatives.

Five candidates have qualified to seek the Republican nomination for mayor including Linkous who currently represents District 5 on the county commission; martial arts instructor Kelly Markham of Rogersville; retired veteran Dennis Chamberlain of Rogersville, retired THP Trooper Jim Lee of Surgoinsville, and former commissioner Charlie Freeman of Rogersville.

So far David Bailey of Rogersville, who operates the Golden Dairy in Rogersville, is the only Democrat running for mayor on the primary ballot.

Four Independent mayor candidates have qualified to be on the Aug. 2 general election ballot including Church Hill Mayor Dennis Deal; former state representative candidate John Neubert of Rogersville; Hawkins County Veterans Affairs Officer Danny Breeding of Surgoinsville; and Roy "Sgt. Spears/Uncle Roy" Edward Spears of Rogersville.

Here are the other candidates who have qualified already for the May 1 primary:

Hawkins County Highway Superintendent

Incumbent Republican Lowell Bean, who is seeking his fourth term in office, is being challenged by engineering consultant Joe Parrott of Kingsport.

Hawkins County Commission District 1

Republicans: Incumbents Eugene Christian and Syble Vaughan-Trent, and challengers Raymond Jessee and George T. Bridwell.

Independents: Paul Hale, Larry Frost and Carole Fuller.

Hawkins County Commission District 2

Republicans: Incumbents Jeff Barrett and B.D. Cradic, and challengers Keith Bruner, Mike Dixon, Tom Kern, and Keith Gibson.

Democrat: Billy Kyle Housewright.

Hawkins County Commission District 3

Republicans: Incumbents Danny Alvis, Greg Fletcher and Stacy Vaughan, and challengers Josh Bellamy, Charles Thacker, and Cathy Carter Lawson.

Independent: Charles Housewright.

Hawkins County Commission District 4

Republicans: Incumbent Dawson Fields, and challengers Andrew Dockery, Patrick Johnson, Reene Rush, Valerie Mallett Goins, Hannah Greer Speaks, and Woody Boyd.

Hawkins County Commission District 5

Republicans: Incumbents Glenda Davis and John Metz, and challenger Mark DeWitte.

Democrat: Jacki Ewing.

Hawkins County Commission District 6

Republicans: Incumbents Nancy Barker, Darrell Gilliam and Rick Brewer, and challengers Al Lamb, Larry Clonce, and Jim Chandler.

Hawkins County Commission District 7

Republicans: Incumbent Michael Herrell and challenger Clarence Otis Lipe.

Democrat: Allen W. Gray.

Independent: Bobby Edens.


District 1 Republicans Bill Creasy, Ryan Christian and Kevin Engwiller; District 2 Republican Freddie Castle; District 3 Republican Frank Vaughn; District 4 Republican James Hammonds; District 5 Republicans Michael Thacker and Charlie Gibson; District 6 Republicans Republicans Wayne Cunningham and Johnny Lee Drinnon; and District 7 Tony Robinson.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos