Leave Feedback

Hawkins municipal election ballots set

Jeff Bobo • Aug 22, 2014 at 12:35 AM

ROGERSVILLE — Surgoinsville's Board of Mayor and Aldermen will change five of seven seats, and the Mount Carmel BMA could potentially include two husband-and-wife teams.

The deadline to qualify as a candidate for Hawkins County's Nov. 4 municipal elections was Thursday.

Every town in Hawkins County has a municipal election this year, and four out of five of those elections will be contested.

The only election that won't be contested is for three seats on the Rogersville City School Board of Education.

The only three candidates to qualify were incumbent school board members Barbara Beets-Combs, Dr. Scott Trent, and Gerald Trent.

There are four candidates seeking three alderman positions in Mount Carmel.

Two incumbents qualified for the Nov. 4 ballot including Francis Frost, who is the wife of Mayor Larry Frost and completing her first four-year term; and incumbent Eugene Christian, who is a longtime alderman and also a member of the Hawkins County Commission

Also on the ballot will be Margaret V. Christian, who is Eugene Christian's wife; and former Mount Carmel fire chief and police officer Chris Jones, who is also a former county commissioner.

Mount Carmel alderman Leann Debord is not seeking re-election

There are three candidates for Surgoinsville mayor, and four candidates for three 4-year alderman seats.

Surgoinsville Mayor Johnny Greer opted not to seek a third term. Among the candidates seeking that office are current Vice Mayor Merrill Graham, current Alderman Larry L. Dykes, and newcomer Robert Bennett.

Longtime Alderman Bobby Jarnagin had picked up a petition for mayor but didn't turn it in.

The three 4-year alderman seats being vacated by Graham, Dykes and Jarnagin are being sought by four candidates including Tim Hoss, a former alderman and vice mayor, and newcomers J.E. Stoker, Nathan Franklin and Dennis Earl Anderson.

Earlier this year Alderman Alex Dykes, whose seat comes up for election in 2016, resigned due to moving out of town. Local firefighter and paramedic Shane Suthers was appointed to fill that seat until Jan. 1, and the seat was placed on the Nov. 4 ballot for a 2-year term.

Suthers is the only candidate seeking that 2-year seat.

Church Hill has six candidates seeking three alderman seats including all three incumbents — Tom Kern, B.D. Cradic and Mark Drinnon — former mayor and alderman Billy Kyle Housewright; and newcomers Lyn Ratliff and Samuel D. Mays Jr.

Bulls Gap Mayor Michael B. "Mike" Solomon is being challenged for his seat by Don Spoon.

There are three candidates seeking the two 2-year Bulls Gap alderman seats including incumbents Susan Williams and Martha Snelson, and former alderman Charles Roark.

The two incumbents Betsy Shipley and Jimmy Sexton are the only two candidates for the two 4-year seats.

The last day for Hawkins County residents to register for the Nov. 4 election is Oct. 4.

For information about registering to vote in Hawkins County, call the election office at 272-8061.

Recommended for You