Five Hawkins County schools awarded Utrust 'mini-grants'

Jeff Bobo • Feb 23, 2014 at 9:09 PM

ROGERSVILLE — Five Hawkins County schools have been awarded “mini-grants” to fund educational programs in the schools thanks to an organization dedicated to expressing appreciation to school employees.

The grants are from Utrust — an organization of school boards in Tennessee that assist school systems in recognizing, supporting and appreciating school employees.

Among the grant recipients are St. Clair Elementary, which has been awarded $1,500.

Fourth-grade teacher Jamie Matthews plans to use the funds to purchase iPads and protective covers to offer her students exposure to technological learning and develop Internet-based skills they would not otherwise have.

Rogersville Middle School received $1500 as requested by librarian Luke Wade in order to develop a Kindle Fire e-book library. The funds will be used to purchase several devices and additional e-books.

Church Hill Elementary School received $500.

Administrative assistant Wilma Holder applied for the grant to purchase an iPad that will be used for several instructional and administrative activities.

Church Hill Intermediate School received two grants.

The first grant for $1800 was applied for by teacher Amanda Ingram and will be used to purchase microscopes to enhance learning in all areas of science.

The second grant for $550 was awarded to librarian Tonya Tate and will be used for the development of a how to section in the library to offer students a hands-on approach to learning new skills.

Volunteer High School counselor Debbie Byrd will use a $650 grant to purchase letters for their school sign.

“This will enable us to more effectively communicate with students, parents and the community,” Byrd said.

Hawkins County is one of 52 school systems in Tennessee that will be receiving Utrust mini-grants totaling more than $300,000 to improve educational opportunities for students.

“Utrust seeks to fund small projects that will make a big difference in the schools,” said Utrust Administrator Dr. Dan Tollett. “We are delighted that Utrust can help Hawkins County Schools with these projects and hope they make a big difference.”

The mini-grant program was approved by the Utrust Board of Trustees to offer an opportunity for member systems to apply for funds for small projects that would not otherwise be funded.

For more information, contact Kristi Coleman at (615) 417- 4190

Recommended for You