46 have applied to become Kingsport’s next police chief

Rain Smith • Jun 18, 2013 at 2:13 PM

Forty-six people from across the country have applied for Kingsport’s vacant police chief position, including the city’s two highest-ranking officers and eight current or former police chiefs at other agencies.

Kingsport City Manager John Campbell says he’s working toward the hiring of a new police chief in July, relying heavily on recommendations from an assessment team that will run the final candidates through the ropes. Late last week Kingsport’s Community and Government Relations Coordinator Tim Whaley reported the team of advisors is still being assembled.

“(They) will take the finalists and observe them through a series of exercises, going beyond a simple face-to-face interview to try to get a more complete view of the candidates’ experiences and abilities,” said Campbell.

“We do have three strong in-house candidates who are each very capable of performing the duties,” Campbell continued, adding that the city’s human resources director “was pleased with the quality of the field overall.”

The candidates with roots firmly planted in the KPD include Deputy Police Chief David Quillin, who’s been acting as interim chief of police since the May 17 retirement of former Chief Gale Osborne. The department’s other deputy chief, Dale Phipps, has also applied, along with Lt. Bud Hulsey, a 25-year veteran of the KPD who retired this month.

Campbell’s hiring of Osborne as police chief in 2007 came from in-house, as he had served as interim chief for six months following the retirement of Chief Mark Addington.

Another candidate with ties to the KPD is John D. Rose, who worked at the department from 1993 through 1995, then at the Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office through 2008. He’s currently an adjunct instructor in East Tennessee State University’s criminal justice program.

Eight current or former police chiefs from five states are also vying for the position.

Scott Cunningham has been chief of police in Winston-Salem, N.C., for the past five years. He’s retiring from the position this month, and previously had a two year stint as police chief in Cary, N.C.

Current Selma, Ala., Police Chief William T. Riley is seeking the Kingsport job, as is Jeffrey R. Insley, chief of police in Thomasville, N.C.

Applicant John. R. Powell served as chief of police in Wilson, N.C., from 2001 through 2004 and in Dothan, Ala., from 2005 through 2009. He’s currently a law enforcement consultant.

Charles M. Bustle was chief of the Lake Lure, N.C., Police Department from 1998 through 2006.

Applicant Jon. M. Fehlman resigned as chief of the Bainbridge Island, Wash., police department in September. Brenda Davis-Jones was terminated from her position as Pine Bluff, Ark., police chief in January. Joseph D. Sanders’ contract as chief of police in Hobbs, N.M., was not renewed when it expired this year.

The rest of the applicants for the position — and the length of stay with their current or most recent employers — are as follows:

• Mark G. Barnard, assistant chief of police, Lexington Police Department, Lexington, Ky., 1986-present

• Anthony M. Barnes, special operations sergeant, Y-12 National Security Complex, Oak Ridge Tenn., March 2008-present.

• Terence M. Calloway, Austin Peay State University chief of police, Clarksville, Tenn., January 2012-present.

• Lawrence N. Cavallaro, supervising investigator, Quest Unlimited, Lakeland Fla., May 2010-present.

• Kevin D. Crye, armed field supervisor, SEI Inc., Chattanooga, Tenn., December 2011-April 2013.

• Don L. Daniel, law enforcement liaison, FEMA, Chicago, January 2012-present.

• Jackie L. Dukes, criminal justice instructor, Morton College, Cicero, Ill., 2004-present.

• Michael D. Foster, Decherd, Tenn., city manager, 2011-present.

• David Frierson, Belt Railway police officer, Bedford Park, Ill., December 2012-present.

• Tim Gobble, East Ridge, Tenn., city manager, 2011-2013.

• Paul D. Johann, supervisory special agent, U.S. Naval Criminal Investigative Service, Quantico, Va., April 1989-present.

• Robert F. Kappelman, captain and assistant chief of police, Two Rivers, Wis., 1992-present.

• John J. Kearin, special investigator, Omnisec International Investigations, Chantilly, Va., April 2013-present.

• John A King, director of the Hagerstown Community College police academy, Hagerstown, Md., November 2012-present.

• Anthony T. Leaphart, inspector/acting area commander, Department of Homeland Security/Federal Protective Service, Atlanta, March 2009-present.

• Joseph S. Manning, lieutenant at Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office, Largo, Fla., 1986-2013.

• Stoney J. Mathis, assistant chief of police, Henry County Police Department, McDonough, Ga., 1995-present.

• Alan May, patrol commander, Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office, West Palm Beach, Fla., 2003-present

• Timothy S. Miller, captain of Williamsport, Pa., Police Department, 2012-present.

• John R. Mitchell, school resource Officer, Pulaski Police Department, Pulaski, Tenn., August 2008-present.

• Brad L. Nelson, captain at the Columbia Police Department, Columbia, Miss., 1992-present.

• David B. Poston, police captain at Charlotte-Mecklenberg Police Department, Charlotte, N.C., 1992-present.

• John M. Ray, executive chief deputy at Tarrant County Sheriff’s Office, Fort Worth, Texas, 2009-present.

• Matthew Ryan, training instructor / police officer, Tampa, Fla., Police Department, March 2011-October 2011.

• Richard C. Shanken, U.S. Marine Corp. police officer, U.S. Geological Survey, Beaufort, S.C., 2009-2013.

• Lee Spector, assistant professor at Union Institute & University, Miami Beach, Fla., 2002-present.

• Fredrick E. Smith, lead school resource officer, Maricopa, Ariz., Police Department, 2008-present.

• Charles Phillip Springer, deputy chief of operations, integration division, and senior law enforcement advisor, Department of Defense, Arlington, Va., May 2012-present.

• Stewart A. Steele, lieutenant at the Boynton Beach, Fla., Police Department, 1994-present.

• Antonio N. Swygart, captain at Dermott, Ark., Police Department, 2008-present.

• Gary J. Tennant, deputy assistant administrator, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, Lorton, Va., 1990-present.

• Mark A. Teunis, support services commander, Clearwater, Fla., Police Department, 2011-present.

• Daniel R. Wright, currently an adjunct law enforcement professor at Roane State Community College, Harriman, Tenn.; Tennessee Bureau of Investigation special agent, 2006-2011.

• Robert L. Yawn II, captain at Osceola County, Fla., Sheriff’s Office, 1988-present.

Recommended for You