Filing deadline approaching for Kingsport, Bristol, Bluff City

J. H. Osborne • Jan 26, 2013 at 11:18 AM

BLOUNTVILLE — With less than four weeks until the filing deadline, several municipal offices have yet to attract candidates.

Voters in Kingsport, Bristol and Bluff City will go to the polls in May to cast ballots in elections for city government.

Would-be candidates for slots on the Kingsport Board of Mayor and Aldermen, the Kingsport Board of Education, Bristol Tennessee City Council, the Bristol Board of Education, and the Bluff City Board of Mayor and Aldermen have until noon Feb. 21 to meet a qualifying deadline.

Candidate petitions have been available for pickup from the Sullivan County Election Commission since Nov. 23. All three cities’ elections are May 21.

In Kingsport, voters will elect a mayor, three at-large alderman seats (currently held by John Clark, Valerie E. Joh, and Tom Parham), and two BOE seats (currently held by Andy King and Carrie Upshaw).

As of Friday, according to the Election Commission, Kingsport Mayor Dennis Phillips has picked up a petition to seek re-election but had not yet filed.

Eric Kerney also has picked up a petition to potentially challenge Phillips.

Six people have picked up petitions to potentially run for Kingsport alderman seats but none had filed.

The six include: Linda D. Buckles; Colette George; Kerney; Ryan T. Neill; Ben Schodowski; and Marvin Sylvia.

For Kingsport BOE, Upshaw has filed to seek re-election.

Bristol Tennessee’s ballot on May 21 will include three city council district seats: East, currently held by Joel Staton; South, currently held by Margaret Feierabend; and West, currently held by David Shumaker.

Bristol Tennessee BOE seats on the May 21 ballot include: District 1, currently held by Kelly Buskell; District 3, currently held by Nelson Pyle; and District 5, currently held by Gwyen Ellis.

According to the Election Commission, as of Friday, Staton has filed to run for re-election to the East District City Council seat. Two challengers, David Akard and Chad Keen, also have filed. A third potential challenger, Julian Herenandez, has picked up but not filed a petition to seek the seat.

In Bristol’s South District, Feierabend has picked up to run for re-election, but not yet filed, while two challengers have filed to run: Vince Turner; and Jack Young.

According to the Election Commission, Shumaker has filed to seek re-election, as has a challenger: Lea Powers.

For Bristol BOE, Buskell and Ellis have picked up but not yet filed for the East District seat; Nelson Pyle has filed for the South District seat; and Jim N. Butcher has filed for the West District seat.

Bluff City voters will elect a mayor and two aldermen on May 21.

The alderman seats currently are held by Robert Miller and Sheena Cornwell. Miller and Cornwell each have picked up a petition, but as of Friday had not yet filed to seek re-election.

No petitions had been issued for Bluff City mayor.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos