Qualifying deadline for Kingsport elections is Feb. 21

J. H. Osborne • Jan 1, 2013 at 9:39 AM

Voters in Kingsport, Bristol and Bluff City will go to the polls in May to cast ballots in municipal elections.

Would-be candidates for slots on the Kingsport Board of Mayor and Aldermen, the Kingsport Board of Education, Bristol, Tennessee City Council, the Bristol Board of Education, and the Bluff City Board of Mayor and Aldermen have about seven weeks to get on the ballot. The qualifying deadline is noon Feb. 21.

Candidate petitions have been available for pickup from the Sullivan County Election Commission since Nov. 23.

All three cities’ elections are May 21.

In Kingsport, voters will elect a mayor, three at-large alderman seats (currently held by John Clark, Valerie E. Joh, and Tom Parham), and two BOE seats (currently held by Andy King and Carrie Upshaw).

As of Monday, according to the Sullivan County Election Commission, no one had picked up a petition to run for any of those Kingsport BMA or BOE seats.

Bristol, Tenn.’s ballot on May 21 will include three city council district seats — East, currently held by Joel Staton; South, currently held by Margaret Feierabend; and West, currently held by David Shumaker.

Bristol, Tenn., BOE seats on the May 21 ballot include: District 1, currently held by Kelly Buskell; District 3, currently held by Nelson Pyle; and District 5, currently held by Gwyen Ellis.

As of Monday, according to the Election Commission, Staton had picked up a petition to run for re-election to the East District City Council seat, but had not yet filed. A challenger, David Akard, filed a completed petition on Dec. 13. Two other potential challengers — Julian Herenandez and Chad Keen — have picked up, but not filed, petitions to seek the seat.

In Bristol’s South District, Feierabend has picked up to run for re-election but has not yet filed, while two challengers have filed to run: Vince Turner (filed Nov. 26) and Jack Young (filed Nov. 29).

According to the Election Commission, Shumaker has picked up a petition to seek re-election, as has potential challenger Lea Powers, but neither has filed.

Bluff City voters will elect a mayor and two aldermen on May 21.

The alderman seats currently are held by Robert Miller and Sheena Cornwell.

As of Monday, no petition had been issued in any of the Bluff City races, according to the Election Commission.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos