Video Report - Mount Carmel Police Department honors officers

Jeff Bobo • Jul 13, 2008 at 12:00 AM

Shown during Thursday's Mount Carmel Police Department's officer of the year award ceremony are, left to right, Assistant Chief Mike Campbell, Lt. Kevin Ewing, Church Hill EMS Board Chairman Fred Arnold, Ken Lunsford, and Chief Jeff Jackson. Photo by Jeff Bobo.


MOUNT CARMEL — The Mount Carmel Police Department held its annual officers of the year award ceremony Thursday, presenting this year’s top honors to a couple of repeat winners.

This year’s top award went to Officer Ken Lunsford, making it two years in a row for him.

Also receiving an award this year was Lt. Kevin Ewing, who has been an officer of the year two of the past three years.

Aside from receiving a plaque, both officer received either a shotgun or a handgun as a prize. As top officer, Lunsford had his choice and he picked the shotgun.

Mount Carmel Police Chief Jeff Jackson said his officers are judged by there performance and productivity, which isn’t necessarily related to the number of citations issued or arrests, but also takes into account conviction rates and intangibles such as attitude, community service and “going above and beyond the call of duty.”

“Every year we give officer of the year, and most of the time we get this done a little sooner in the year, but each year it gets harder and harder because all the officer are so good,” Jackson said. “Every year it boils down to a very, very thin line when you’re picking who has had the best performance for the whole year. This year Officer Lunsford has come in again as one of our top officers, along with Lt. Kevin Ewing.”

A special award was presented to Church Hill EMS Board of Directors Chairman Fred Arnold. Church Hill EMS sponsored the award this year and purchased the firearms that were presented to the officers as prizes.

“We couldn’t do this without Church Hill EMS’s support,” Jackson said.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos