Sullivan panel certifies ballots for Aug. 7 elections

J. H. Osborne • Apr 10, 2008 at 12:00 AM

BLOUNTVILLE — The ballots are set for Aug. 7.

Sullivan County voters will go to the polls that day for three ballots: Democratic and Republican party primaries for state and federal offices on the November ballot; and a general election that includes two county commission seats and four county school board seats.

On Thursday, just after the noon deadline for withdrawal, the Sullivan County Election Commission certified the list of candidates for each ballot.

Gena Frye, administrator of elections in the county, said nothing changed from a list of candidates released last week after a filing deadline.

That roundup included:

•County Commissioner Michael Surgenor will run in the Democratic primary to become the party’s candidate for Tennessee House of Representatives, District 1. That seat is held by Jon Lundberg, R-Bristol. Lundberg is seeking re-election and will be on the Republican ballot.

In other races for the state House:

•District 2 — Incumbent state Rep. Nathan Vaughn, D-Kingsport, is seeking re-election. Republican Tony Shipley of Kingsport is seeking his party’s nomination to challenge Vaughn in November.

•District 3 — Incumbent state Rep. Jason Mumpower, R-Bristol, is seeking re-election. He has no challengers from Sullivan County.

•Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, R-Blountville, is seeking re-election to the Tennessee Senate, 2nd District. Kingsport’s James W. Jones will seek the Democratic nomination to challenge Ramsey.

•And two Kingsport Democrats — Robert A. Russell and Michael A. Donihe — have filed in Sullivan County to seek the party’s nomination to run in November for the 1st District U.S. House of Representatives seat held by David Davis, R-Johnson City. Davis is seeking re-election and faces challenges from other counties within the 1st District, including Washington County.

All four Sullivan County BOE members whose seats are up for election in August will be on the county’s general election ballot. No challengers filed to run for any of the seats, although the deadline for write-in candidates doesn’t roll around until mid-June.

The four BOE members who will be on the August ballot are: District 1 — Jack Bales; District 3 — Jim Kiss; District 5 — Ron Smith; and District 7 — Betty Combs.

•In August, voters in two county commissioner districts will elect replacements to finish out unexpired terms of commissioners who died in recent months.

•There are two candidates for the Bristol area District 3 commission seat formerly held by the late Ralph Harr: Bart Long, 711 Holston Ave., Bristol; and Robert W. Neal, 361 Blountville Hwy.

•Five people filed to run for the Bloomingdale/Indian Springs area District 6 seat formerly held by the late Howard Patrick: Bobby E. Brooks, 111 Chateaugay Road; former County Commissioner Larry Hall, 1314 Childress Ferry Road; Matthew J. Johnson, 413 Ferncliff Drive; Rodger K. Jones, 216 New Beason Well Road; and Craig Ramey, 616 Newland Ave.

Candidates who filed in Sullivan County had until noon Thursday to withdraw from the ballot.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos