no avatar

Virginia Board of Education lauds schools for achievement

Staff report • Apr 27, 2007 at 10:15 AM

Eight public school divisions in Virginia, including Scott County Schools, and 136 schools were honored Friday by the Virginia Board of Education for raising the achievement of economically disadvantaged students and for exceeding state accreditation standards and the annual objectives of the federal No Child Left Behind Act.

Virginia BOE President Mark E. Emblidge presented Distinguished Title I School Division plaques to superintendents of the following school divisions: Halifax County, Highland County, Lynchburg, Nottoway County, Poquoson, Roanoke County, Scott County and West Point.

The divisions earned the designation by making what NCLB defines as adequate yearly progress (AYP) for two consecutive years and exceeding all annual achievement objectives.

In addition, the board recognized 136 schools receiving funding under Title I of NCLB as Title I Distinguished Schools for meeting federal benchmarks in reading and mathematics, maintaining full accreditation for two consecutive years, and having mean test scores for both English and mathematics at the 60th percentile or higher. These schools will receive banners and certificates.

Title I of NCLB provides funding to school divisions and schools for programs to raise the achievement of students identified as being at risk.

"The success of these school divisions and schools is evidence that all children - regardless of their economic status - can learn and achieve when they are given effective and focused instruction," said Emblidge.

"The results of the hard work of thousands of students, teachers, principals and other educators are seen in the increased achievement of students in the honored schools and divisions," said Billy K. Cannaday Jr., superintendent of public instruction.

Local schools honored are:

•Bristol - Joseph Van Pelt Elementary.

•Lee County - Elk Knob Elementary, Elydale Elementary, Flatwoods Elementary and Keokee Elementary.

•Russell County - Lebanon Primary.

•Scott County - Hilton Elementary, Nickelsville Elementary, Rye Cove Intermediate, Weber City Elementary and Yuma Elementary.

•Tazewell County - Abbs Valley Boissevain Elementary, Cedar Bluff Elementary, Graham Intermediate and Tazewell Elementary.

•Washington County - High Point Elementary and Watauga Elementary.

•Wise County - Powell Valley Primary and St. Paul Elementary.

•Wythe County - Speedwell Elementary.

Recommended for You