no avatar

Kilgore named to Transportation Conference Committee

Staff report • Feb 16, 2007 at 8:33 AM

Virginia Speaker of the House William J. Howell announced Thursday that Delegate Terry G. Kilgore, R-Gate City, will serve on the Transportation Conference Committee.

The committee will meet over the next week to resolve differences between a compromise plan crafted by the speaker and Senate leaders that passed the House with bipartisan support and another plan supported by Senate Finance Chairman John Chichester and the Senate Democrats.

"I am honored to be selected by Speaker Howell to serve on the Conference Committee. I am optimistic that we can resolve our differences and come up with a comprehensive solution to address our transportation challenges," said Kilgore. "Rest assured that whatever deal we reach will include funding for Southwest Virginia road projects like Moccasin Gap and Route 58. I will work hard to forge agreement around a plan that alleviates congestion for commuters and does not break the back of taxpayers."

Other members of the Conference Committee include House Majority Leader Morgan Griffith (Salem), Delegate Kirk Cox (Colonial Heights), Delegate Algie Howell (Norfolk) and Delegate S. Chris Jones (Suffolk).

The Senate appointed Sen. Tommy Norment (James City), Sen. Marty Williams (Newport News), Sen. Ken Stolle (Virginia Beach), Sen. Phillip Puckett (Russell) and Sen. Frank Wagner (Virginia Beach).

Kilgore, the majority caucus chairman, represents Scott County, Lee County and parts of Washington and Wise counties.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos