no avatar

ETSU Foundation honors top contributors to school

Staff report • Feb 9, 2007 at 10:09 AM

KINGSPORT - Top donors from the private sector were honored by East Tennessee State University for generous contributions to the ETSU Foundation during the Distinguished President's Trust dinner at MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center Friday night.

The Distinguished President's Trust consists of more than 920 contributors whose cumulative giving has surpassed the $10,000 level to the ETSU Foundation. The Distinguished President's Trust welcomed 49 new members at the dinner. Many of the donors are permanently recognized on the President's Society Wall of Honor located on the main ETSU campus in Johnson City. ETSU President Dr. Paul E. Stanton Jr. told the gathering that group and the Distinguished President's Trust membership have cumulatively given more than $156 million to the university, including planned gifts.

The Platinum Society honors donors whose cumulative contributions total $1 million to $5 million. The new Platinum II member, up from Platinum I, is Wayne G. Basler, Kingsport. New Platinum I members are C.M. "Bill" Gatton, Bristol, and Drs. Jack and Diane Nelson, Johnson City.

With cumulative contributions of $500,000 to $1 million, the new Gold Society member is General Shale Brick, Johnson City.

New Silver Society members, with cumulative contributions of $100,000 to $500,000, are Patricia M. Brown, Clyce Distributing Co. Inc., Health Alliance PHO Inc., Henry and Flora Joy, the Estate of Walter Carson Marshall, C.E. Parker and Family in memory of Dorothy K. Parker, and Dr. Michael and Judith Woodruff, Johnson City; Rab and Nita Summers and Dr. Guy and Debra Wilson, Jonesborough; Newt and Carmen Raff, Piney Flats; Atmos Energy Corp., Dallas; Dr. Ronald E. and Edith J. Carrier, Harrisonburg, Va.; and the Virginia Association of Surveyors Inc., Richmond, Va.

The Bronze Society recognizes donors with cumulative contributions of $50,000 to $100,000. New members are the Earl B. Bolling Scholarship Trust and Steve E. Grindstaff, Elizabethton; Citi Cards, Gray; Dr. and Mrs. Larry G. Graham, Dr. Robert D. Patton, Robert and Carol Plummer, and Ben and Helen Siler, Johnson City; Food City/K-VA-T Food Stores, Abingdon, Va.; the Appalachian Regional Commission, Washington, D.C.; and Margaret Estelle Vorous, Inwood, W.Va.

Recommended for You