no avatar

Area athletes playing in FCA All-Star game

Douglas Fritz • Dec 6, 2018 at 12:49 AM

With rosters full of football players from Northeast Tennessee and Southwest Virginia, the FCA All-Star game will be held next week.

The contest is scheduled for Dec. 15 at Emory & Henry College, with kickoff set for 1 p.m.

Elizabethton’s Shawn Witten will coach the West team while Virginia High’s Michael Crist will guide the East squad.

Witten said the game provides a unique opportunity for him and the other coaches.

“It’s great to work with student-athletes that you compete against, watch on film, and read about,” Witten said.

Included on Witten’s roster from the Tennessee side are two players from Dobyns-Bennett (Lendon Redwine and Nic Bristol), two from Science Hill (Ryan Miles and Stephen Grant), four from David Crockett (Mark Seidler, Micah Robinson, John Kollie, Doc Coffey) and four from Daniel Boone (Easton Harrell, James Richardson, Isaiah Quaintance, Jeremiah Sullivan).

It’s a December football game after the season is over, but Witten said the competitive juices will kick in.

“The game is both fun and competitive,” he said. “When it gets to the fourth quarter, you definitely want to win.”

Witten’s team will also have four players from Cherokee (Trey Courtney, Japheth Curtsinger, Ben Redding and Dawson Walker), two from Sullivan North (Zach Scott and Kyle Fields) and one from Sullivan South (Aaron Watterson).

Southwest Virginia players for the West are from Thomas Walker (Chase Fulton and Peyton Redinger), Wise Central (Mckinley Dale), Twin Springs (Cole Burke and John Lane), Lee (Dwayne Garrett and Ethan Wynn), Rye Cove (Matt Gibson), Gate City (Isaac Stapleton), Ridgeview (Mason Mullins, Derek Maine, Carson Skyes and Quin Turner) and Union (Avery Jenkins).

Coaches for Witten’s squad include Cherokee’s Cody Baugh and Crockett’s Hayden Chandley.

As for Crist’s team, it has 35 players from Southwest Virginia along with 15 from the Tennessee side.

The biggest Southwest Virginia representation for the East squad comes from Abingdon (Tyler Thayer, Gabe Boothe, Jake Crosswhite, Sean Canada) and Marion (Dylan Roberts, Austin Thomas, Nick Reese, Easton Medley).

There will also be players from John Battle, Castlewood (Calleb Meade and Brue Mullins), Chilhowie, Eastside (Justin McCoy and Jessie McCoy), George Wythe, Holston, Honaker, Johnson County, Patrick Henry, Richlands, Sullivan East, Unaka, Unicoi County and Virginia High.

Kingsport Times News Videos