Sullivan BOE honors school resource officers, teachers

Rick Wagner • Updated May 15, 2017 at 12:40 PM

BLOUNTVILLE — Sullivan County’s school system recognized its school resource officers Thursday in advance of National Police Week May 14-20.

During Thurdsay’s Board of Education meeting, Director of Schools Evelyn Rafalowski presented the four high school SROs and their supervisor with pens made by career technical education students at Sullivan Central High School. The clips of the pens were shaped like small rifles.

The SROS are deputies Steve Hinkle of Sullivan Central, Lee Douglas of North, Jerett Ratliff of South and Carolyn Gudger of East. Lt. Lee Carswell is their supervisor.

Rafalowski credited the SROs and Carswell with quick responses when needed, both at the schools to which they are assigned and at others when needed.

“I just can’t tell you how invaulable they are,” Rafalowski said.

The school board also recognized 12 schools out of 39 applications that won UTrust grants recently. They include teachers Catherine Vaughn-Keen of Blountville Elementary for a cross-curricular program; Rebecca Smith of Holston Elementary for differentiated instruction; Caitlin Crockett of Holston Valley Middle for assistance technology for special education; Marybeth Ritz of Ketron Elementary for hands-on math learning; and Gina Zimmerman of Miller Perry Elementary for Legos in literacy.

The rest are Kristy Sproles of Central for differentiated instruction; Denise McReynolds at Central for a student piano lab; Teresa Cassel of East for level four digital programs in health occupations; Lucas Carr at North for STEM aquaponics; Courtney Lawson at South for a digital microscope; Tracy Latham, (a school counselor) at Weaver Elementary for differential learning and remediation; and Cheryl Chandler at Emmett Elementary for alternative assessment in special education.

The board voted 6-0 with one absent to grant tenure to the following teachers: Robin Cox of Colonial Heights Middle; Allison Horne of Miller Perry; Casey Jackson and Nikki Winchell of Emmett; Kenneth Carrico and Courtney Lawson of South; Haley Miller of Central Heights Elementary; and Sandra Clark of Holston Middle. 

In addition, the board recognized Blountville Elementary for winning the annual $50,000 literacy grant from Dollar General.

Recommended for You

    Kingsport Times News Videos